Customer reviews for Orion Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube

Orion Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube

Superb high-power performance, compact lightweight design, sharp high-contrast view, and clearly defined photographs make the Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain perfect for the advanced observer or astrophotographer.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 Reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Review 1 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

orion's 180mm mak-cass OTA

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer avatar
This OTA shipped in the best packing I've seen yet from Orion...a nice rubbery foam that works just great. The OTA is rather austere in appearance, but nice heavy build for the corrector and rear-cell housing. Coatings on corrector are completely even and immaculate. The focuser is very smooth and buttery to the touch. Got this with the fitted case, and need to remove visual back to make it go in, but that keeps the length down and just airline portable. Nice that this OTA doesn't feel too light...rear cell is substantial, as is the front cell, which I appreciate for a scope this size. Observing over a few nights, optics display excellent collimation right out of the box. Inner and outer diffraction rings from star-testing are identical, with clean, text-book patterns for a well-corrected system. Compares quite favorably with my Intes MK-66 deluxe. Cannot see any image-shift in focuser. I personally can do without the built-in dovetail...I would rather just get tube rings to install my own. Outstanding scope overall, handles high powers very comfortably.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Orion 180 Mak - Wow!

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Customer avatar
I received my Orion 180 Mak about three weeks ago. It's been quite cloudy here in New Mexico during the current summer 'monsoon" season but I have managed to get in some night viewing and more during the day. All I can say is this scope is spectacular!I accessorized mine with a correct view eyepiece mount for correct left-right/up- down views plus an Orion zoom eyepiece. Oh Boy! What a thrill to kick this baby up to 300 plus power and see the mouths and tongues of little swallows in their nest between a power pole transformer and the pole more than 100 yards away. I can see the down on the chicks and count the feathers on mama as she feeds them grasshoppers. Something else. To say I'm pleased would be a gross understatement! The 180 Mak mates perfectly with my Orion Atlas EQ-G tripod/mount and is a joy to use in GoTo mode. My son-in-law and I watched Saturn the other night for two hours. What a thrill to see the rings better than ever before and we were both amazed by the resolution. The moon and Jupiter would be impossible to describe in words viewed through this scope because they are so vivid and clear. I give this scope five stars with no hesitation. Laurence St.Onge
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great planetary scope

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer avatar
I bought this telescope 6 months ago and used it a lot, observing the moon, Jupiter, and lately Mars, I am extremelly satisfied with it. The views on the moon and planets are very sharp. I casually use x270 magnification, and images are still very sharpand full of contrast, The large f/d ratio make it an excellent scope for planetary imaging. Other bonus: the scope keeps collimation extremely well. I got it collimated "out of the box" and did not have to recollimate it since then!!! If you like planetary observing, this is a telescope of choice, with a truly terrific quality/price ratio... The one I have would surpass easily any top class 5" APO at a fraction of the price.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orion 180mm Maksutov Cassegrain

PostedJune 4, 2008
Customer avatar
This is my 4th telescope and my best yet. The 1st thing I did was go out and did a star test, I was amazed! My 6" refractor was never this good. I have enjoyed the sharp views of Saturn (my favorite) in my urban backyard. I have finally found my best all around scope, great optics, compact and easy setup.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orion 180mm Mak-Cass OTA

PostedJuly 9, 2009
Customer avatar
I just received my 180mm Mak-Cass OTA, and after testing it in the optics lab it arrived with precise collimation and a nearly textbook Airy disc on the artificial star simulator. First tests under mediocre skies suggests this is a very top-notch scope for lunar and planetary as well as double star observation. Can't wait to take it to our remote site for further testing and observing. So far, this system compares very favorably with much more expensive APO optical systems and a premier Mak-Cass costing thousands more. The only thing that I do not like is that Orion does not offer a flexible dew cap to fit this telescope.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product! Excellent service!

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Customer avatar
I recently purchased the Orion 180mm Mak-Cass and WOW! I couldn't be happier! I upgraded from the 127mm and the difference is very noticeable. The light-gathering power of the 180 easily trumps the 127, but both Orion scopes are built exquisitely and are built to last! Service was excellent and staff was knowledge and friendly. Shipping was fast and reliable. I would definitely order from Orion again! (In fact, I got a T-ring a few days later!)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

180mm Mak observation

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer avatar
from Austin, Texas
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features & Functionality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purposely listed no CONS in that if you research and understand the purpose of this telescope there are no flaws or CONS. If I had to list one it would be the long thermal stabilization time required during winter months. Not really a con you just have to plan for the additional time needed before actual use.
I have had the Orion 180mm Mak for a few months now and have put it through it's paces.
This review is to cover my observations. The eye pieces I consistently use are 32, 25, 20 and15mm.
1. The planets
The moon of which is usually the first thing most people look at was no exception here as well. The receipt of the Mak was during about half moon stage and gave me the opportunity to see just how well it performed. The view was astounding. Deep contrast with well defined craters, ridges and other features normally not as noticeable on my other telescopes. Bumping up the magnification from x84 (32mm) to x270 (10mm) remains clear with excellent definition and contrast. This telescope gives a new reason to explore the moon all over again for the seasoned amateur and simply big wow factor for anyone new.
Saturn is spectacular in this telescope. The contrast is amazing. Bright detailed planet against an absolutely black background and the moons crisp and clear. Using 25mm with 2x barlow gives me x216 magnification and the rings become large enough with the ability to easily detect the Cassini Division. Surface storms are also detectable if large enough at x270.
2. DSOs
I saw several sites that listed the Mak telescope as NOT desirable for DSO observation. While I know that large open clusters and sweeping nebulae are too large to view with it's narrow FOV, i.e. Pleiades M45, it is quite the opposite for globular, tight clusters and planetary nebulae. These look spectacular in this telescope.
Globulars M4, M13 and M92 presented well defined stars and was simply awe aspiring.
The Triffid, Lagoon, Eagle and Swan nebulae are also exceptional.
Wild Duck and Butterfly Clusters were magnificent.
All the above were readily visible with 32mm eyepiece keeping the magnification at x84
The Ring, a planetary nebula, would fill the view using 10mm eyepiece at x270 magnification.
3. Stars
For observing stars, this telescope excels, especially for double and multiple star system observation. There are too many to list here, however the most popular one, Albireo, is exceptional with this telescope.
I am very pleased with this telescope from Orion. It arrived in perfect collimation and has remained so with constant use, including setup and tear down in multiple locations. I would highly recommend this to anyone who understands the pro and cons of a Mak and is looking for an exceptional unit within this price range.
Favorite viewing location: Central and West Texas
Favorite object to observe: Planets and Plantary Nebulas
Pros: double and mulitple star systems, sharpness detail and contrast, planetary observation, planetary nebula globulars
Yes, I recommend this product!
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big refractor performance in a compact package.

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer avatar
from Roseville, CA
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was this, or a 6 inch refractor achromat. I'm glad I got this. It's like a 6 inch f/15 ED refractor with a focal length of 106.5 inches! That would not fit in the car, but this little powerhouse sure does. There is no chromatic aberation with sharp high contrast views of Mars, Saturn, and Jupiter. It did arrive somewhat out of optical alignment at first which had me wondering why it gave images about equal to my well collimated C11. I spent a good half hour aligning the primary the other night, and after a 30 minute cool down which was all it needed since I keep it in the cold garage, turned it on Saturn. Oh my, what a pretty picture. It snapped into focus and looked like it was pasted on a pure black background with cloud bands and ring divisions. Absolutly no hint of CA, glare, or fuzziness on the edge of the planet at 216X with mediocre seeing conditions. I've never seen Mars so good! The only negatives are some rough burrs on the edge of the threads of the front lens cell and being out of collimation, which probably was due to the rough handling of the shipper. I highly recommend this as a second specialty scope for the planets, moon, and gobular clusters in an urban, light polluted environment. It fits my CG5 dovetail nicely with two 11 lb. counterweights 2/3 up on the shaft.
Favorite viewing location: Blue Canyon, CA
Favorite object to observe: Saturn
Pros: high performance in a compact package.
Cons: front lens cell threads rough on edges., orion does not offer a dew/lens shade.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orion 180mm Mak-Cass Telescope Optical Tube

PostedFebruary 25, 2009
Customer avatar
I bought this scope 2 weeks ago and finally last night I was able to use it during the Comet Lulin event. In aiding my search for Lulin, I came across Saturn which was the first time I have even seen Saturn and it was then I was very pleased with my purchase. I'm planning on getting a lot of use from this telescope and can't wait to see what other sky watches will bring to my eyes. I had to order an additional counterweight for my SVP mount but all in all, the scope performs wonderfully. Highly recommended!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding images for a very reasonable cost!

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer avatar
When I received my 180mm I did side by side comparisons with my C8,Meade 10" sct,4"f15 antares rfr.It was truly no contest.The 180 put up almost remarkable planetary images.The view through the meade 10
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion 180mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope Optical Tube
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good service

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Very good service and quality.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.