Customer reviews for Orion Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope

Orion Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope

The Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope provides great wide-field high contrast images for the intermediate observer or astrophotographer. It is perfect for viewing or photographing the moon, planets and even deep-sky objects.
Overall rating:
4.726 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 Reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Review 1 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A scope that made the stars assessable to a beginner

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Bluevoss
from Orlando, Florida
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this scope on the recommendation of an amateur astronomer who was holding sky-viewings at the local science center. He claimed it was a good solid scope for a patent and methodical beginner, not quite full-fledge novice, but something that would have value as I expanded into the hobby. So far, he's been correct.
The scope assembly was easy enough. There were a couple of careful readings of some of the paragraphs - really, if you are going to name something, you'll need to either give a picture of it or a better description - one or two moments caused my wife and I to carefully decode what we were being told to do. Also, the errata for design changes were also a little strange. We worked it out, eventually. But really, it went together well enough.
One thing I really liked about the instructions was that, not only did they explain how magnification really worked (without artificially boosting their claims of what could be seen) but they gave the beginner some valuable tips in setting up the tripod and how to use an equatorial mount. At first we were quite confused - how could we elevate the view? But their instructions helped us to understand the true advantages of an aligned tripod. Now we can place it and be up and running in minutes.
The sighting scope works very well, much better than the Meade I originally borrowed. On a recent night, we could hop the scope from the moon to the various planets and stars quickly and accurately. So far, we haven't been able to get the scope out into the country to see how it looks at various objects in space, but our backyard views of the moon (with a purchased filter) and the planets were most satisfying. I'm excited to see what gains I might get from a extender I recently purchased that hasn't arrived yet.
Some things we discovered from trial and error - the first time we set up, the scope seemed very unbalanced (even though we'd balanced it indoors). Later we realized that we had not been placing the scope exactly in the same spot on the tripod mount we'd calibrated it on. Even an inch or so off can cause the scope to drop or rise when the locks are released. We solved this with a piece of painters tape on the scope's mount bar, so we can always be assured we'll be placing it where we'd originally balanced it at.
Another small issue is the holding tray bolted to the tripod legs with three manually-turned screws. The screws are pretty small and must go in from underneath. And the tray has to be removed for transport. I'm thinking that maybe narrower shafts, dropped in from above and held in place by gravity and their heads, might be a better arrangement for speedy setup and takedown. I'm just worried I'm going to drop one of those screws in the grass and that will be that.
But otherwise, a great scope for a newbie to expand his interest in the hobby. My wife and I are planning a trip out into the countryside (a friend owns an extensive ranch out in the country - we've already been out to stargaze the other night). Now, if I can figure a way to get this scope secure in a mini cooper, we'll be ready to go!
Overall, I'm very, very pleased with this scope.
Favorite viewing location: The backyard, for now
Favorite object to observe: The moons at favorite at this point, followed by Jupiter
Pros: a solid scope for a solid hobbiest
Cons: scope mount could be improved with mount marks
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dbinvermont
Waterbury, Vermont
 
Please wait while more information about dbinvermont is loaded.
Additional information about dbinvermont could not be loaded.
about the accessory tray....
Posted March 29, 2015
...I replaced the screws with velcro.
No longer an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scope for a beginner

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Jimnutz
from Milford CT
Age:35-44
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this scope and in two days it arrived at my door. The ease of setup was great but the directions pertain to a different equatorial stand but here was an addendum sheet that was very helpful. The scope is great for planets and day time viewing. I wanted this scope because I am serious about astro photography and this scope seems it would be best for a beginner. I was able to adjust the finder scope but it doesn't always line up directly but gets u there and then using equatorial mount was a breeze, even with not being exactly aligned to Polaris. I only used three times since I have gotten the telescope but it's been awesome. The lenses included worked very well but will need an upgrade to the lenses. Cant wait to take it out more and especially to a nice dark site.
Favorite viewing location: Back yard for now
Favorite object to observe: moon M42 and Jupitor
Pros: solid scope great views of planets
Cons: cap falls off the equitorial scope
Yes, I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a real telescope...

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
dbinvermont
from Waterbury, Vermont
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After waiting nearly two weeks for clear skies, I had "first light" with my new Orion Astroview 120ST last night. While the sky was not completely clear, and with plenty of light polution, I found myself saying "wow" over and over again.
I have owned many scopes over the years, my most recent (and best to date) being a 6" reflector. But with the 120ST I was stunned by the clear, sharp images that I saw under not-the-best conditions. I easily saw four stars in the Trapezium in Orion (sharp points of light), and the Pleides was something that I just couldn't stop looking at. I even caught a flare near Alcyone.
This scope makes great use of a 2x Shorty Barlow, giving the magnification needed, while preserving field of view. I did try a 10mm Plossl, and it showed sharp images, with or without the Barlow.
These are obviously high quality optics, and this telescope more than just out performs its predecessors, it blows them out of the water.
I can see as useful additions for the future:
two speed focuser
correct image finder scope
light polution filter
I haven't used the polar alignment scope yet, I just did a reasonable level of the tripod and point the mount north, and everything stayed easily in the field of view using just the RA knob.
Lastly, with the tripod legs not extended, this is a super stable platform, and at a good height for viewing while seated. Any image movement caused by bumping or focusing stops immediately when you take your hands off.
I am very happy with the quality and performance of this scope, and would heartily recommend it. Now I know why all of the reviews rave about it! As soon as you own one, you will too!
Favorite viewing location: soccer field at nearby elementary school
Favorite object to observe: Nebulae, planets. With this scope, I have a new appreciation for star fields.
Pros: great optics, stable platform, convenient size, more than you would expect for the price
Cons: so far none!
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dbinvermont
Waterbury, Vermont
 
Please wait while more information about dbinvermont is loaded.
Additional information about dbinvermont could not be loaded.
polar alignment cap falls off....
Posted February 11, 2015
Just wanted to add to my review that the polar alignment scope cap does fall off, as many have reported.
I replaced it with a black 35mm film canister. It is a snug fit, doesn't fall off, removes easily, and looks like it came with the scope. A very cheap and workable alternative.
I have used this scope for a few months now, and so far that loose fitting cap is the only thing that could be considered a negative feature. I am still thrilled to own it, and highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scope

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Dez1000
from Concord, CA
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just picked this scope up from the Cupertino store the other day, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I spent the night observing the Milky Way in Cassiopea and Perseus, especially the open clusters there. The views were amazing. As an astronomer with almost 40 years experience I can honestly say this scope is a great buy, well worth the money!!
Someone mentioned a problem with the polar scope cover. I used some extra self adhesive foam that was left over from my solar filter and put it on the inside of the cover. Now it's rock solid
Favorite viewing location: Back yard, camping
Favorite object to observe: Galaxies, star cluster, nebulae, the Milky Way
Pros: great price, excellent quality optics
Cons: you kidding? none
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with this purchase - about as large a scope as I can handle

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Ojisan
from Maui, HI
Age:Over 65
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The 120mm refractor arrived in one package in excellent condition. The telescope was easy to assemble and the equatorial drive was attached within minutes. I am an older individual who wanted an instrument that would provide nice planetary and Lunar images but still be able to easily move from my 4th floor apartment to the courtyard.
I've mounted the scope on a camera dolly and is very easy to move and very stable after locking the wheels. The images are great and I've take a few photos under questionable seeing conditions and one can see the potential.
The scope was the hit of our apartment complex's Lunar Eclipse Star Party. I had about 50 participants ranging from toddlers, to college students, and to seniors. Here in Maui we were able to view the eclipse very well. We also had some very nice views of Mars and Jupiter that night.
Unfortunately I was so busy I could hardly take a look myself - let alone take any photos. The attached photos are from about two days later. I'm new to digital photography and am looking forward to enhancing my skills.
Last night (4/19/14) the seeing was excellent and the views of Jupiter, Mars, and Saturn were impressive. Several tenants, young and old, had a pleasant and educational experience.
Favorite viewing location: Apartment courtyard, Kahului, Maui
Favorite object to observe: Moon, planets
Yes, I recommend this product!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compactness and high quality

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
daverag
from Carefree, AZ
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had this instrument for a short period and have not had the chance to test its full capabilities (thanks to our recent lousy weather) but expect to do this tonight. I found the instructions a bit confusing and it took way longer than 30 minutes to fully set the telescope up - this is due in my part to not be the sharpest knife in the drawer when it comes to this. Appears to be of very high quality. The instrument in general is too heavy to transport complete but its great (and easy) to be able to separate the scope from the tripod and this makes set up a breeze. I would highly recommend this telescope to anyone. Thank you for this great instrument !
Favorite viewing location: Arizona backyard
Favorite object to observe: planets and nebulae
Yes, I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first scope

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Davidson
from Picayune, MS
Age:18-24
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features & Functionality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been heavily interested in astronomy since as far back as memory serves, and finally decided to save up and get a good scope that's in my price range. I checked reviews for this scope on this site and others and everybody seemed to really enjoy having this scope. It arrived with every piece nice and safe with no damages to anything. For somebody that had no idea how to put it together it was fairly simple and can be built fairly quickly. Lucked out and the day it came in was a 100% clear sky night and when I took it out to look at the heavens I was completely blown away. The stock diagonal and stock eye pieces are low end but still show amazing detail in planets and nebula. I plan on upgrading my diagonal and eye pieces but the scope itself met and exceeded my expectations. Let friends look through it and all of em instantly got hooked on astronomy. And their is plenty of videos on YouTube to help any beginner get started in astronomy.
Reason I jumped to such an advanced scope for a beginner is cause the way I look at it is, if I'm going to shell out money for a scope, I'm going to buy one that I will keep for a very long time. Only con to this scope I have is the black cover that goes over the eq alignment scope can be knocked over too easily. Ever so lightly tap it and it falls off. But other than that I have no problems.
Favorite viewing location: I live in the country so any dark open field near by.
Favorite object to observe: Everything, waiting for Mars to come into opposition this april
Pros: good quality all around scope
Cons: eq alignment cover
Yes, I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow!!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
james43
from huntsville,tx
Age:35-44
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features & Functionality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is one amazing scope easy to set up, controls are very smooth and a very sturdy mount. the images that I have got from this scope are very crisp and clear. considering the price you will get your moneys worth with this scope set up.
Favorite viewing location: back yard
Favorite object to observe: deep sky and planets
Yes, I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Confusing Equatorial Mount Instructions

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
tjCopperhead
from Manchester, NH
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mount has been updated since instructions were published. There seems to be multiple references to functions related to the RA Setting Circle that do not exist on the mount any more. References to non-existent Meridian Scale and Date Circle made it very confusing for me (a beginner). Make sure you read the addendum(s) to the EQ mount and the PA finder scope BEFORE reading the manual, this offers SOME (but very little) assistance. References in the Polar Axis Finder addendum do match the pages/paragraphs in the manual. Good, responsive (phone) Tech support provided me assistance. Would have been 5 stars, if not for the owners manual issues...
Pros: excellent high quality equipment, good tech support
Cons: poor manual/instructions
Yes, I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Trekkie53
from Omaha, NE
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Condition Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
there are only a couple of things about being able to move this puppy around to view that I don't like but overall it's one heck of a telescope. I love it. It's beautiful, it's sturdy (quite heavy with the weights) and it's worth every penny. Can't wait to buy some more eye pieces.
Favorite viewing location: My back yard for now.
Favorite object to observe: Saturn
Cons: hard to get it pointed to something low in the sky
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best scope to start with!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Spookyactionatadistance
from Chicago
Age:25-34
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
After using this scope for over a year I can honestly say it has exceeded my expectations and then some. Not only does it perform as a visual scope it can also be used to capture excellent wide field astro images. Granted you will need to purchase the RA motor drive as well as other accessories to connect a DSLR to it but most of the accessories you will pick up can be used on other scopes. When people ask me which telescope to purchase when getting into astronomy I recommend this telescope package without hesitation. At this price point I'm not sure if there's a better option on the market. Just be prepared to get addicted to astronomy, you may notice your bank account suffering while your curiosity is expanding;)
Favorite viewing location: Afton Forest Preserve, DeKalb IL
Favorite object to observe: Lagoon Nebula M8
Pros: wide field, astrophotography, deep sky
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a very nice telescope

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
andercd
from Eastern Washington
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being new to Astronomy and AP I looked for a scope that I could enjoy for some years to come. Reading others reviews about this scope really helped me decide that this would be a worthy scope to own. Many others comments are true.
1. The clarity is very good.
2. Easy to setup (check YouTube videos for EQ Scopes)
3. A complete package to get you started.
4. Can accept 2" lenses (on my list to buy).
5. Mine is very smooth to use.
6. Feels hefty but stable.
7. Easy to break down and setup at other locations.
The one thing I will upgrade (sooner than later) is the finder scope. I like the red laser light but having had 2 neck surgeries makes it impossible for me to look at objects overhead or near that position. Get a 90* angle finder scope and stop the pain!!!
I'm happy with this scope and would recommend it to others looking for a decent refractor scope. This is my first Orion telescope but it won't be my last! Thank you Orion for making this scope available
Favorite viewing location: Back Yard
Favorite object to observe: Saturn, Moon, Stars
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yet so far now so close

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
evilhead
from southern new jersey
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the 120st is my first refractor and i'm glad it was. the ease of assembly was great, the weight makes for ease of mobility and the views write out of the box made me see stars :P, so lets recap....easy, easy, amazing and affordable. if ur looking for a refractor and want to see what ur looking for this is ur new best friend try one. with a 30 day return policy and access to orion tech support(which was profesional and a pleasure to deal with) u have nothing to lose.
Favorite viewing location: any clear sky
Favorite object to observe: all th above
Pros: for the money nothin but visual beauty
Cons: mount little shakie fully extended
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Refractor for its price

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Pete In Coos Bay
from Oregon
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have now owned this Astroview 120 ST-EQ for about 9 years. Since my initial purchase I have added one Shorty-plus Barlow lens, a couple more eyepieces and an Orion EZ-II red-dot finder.
With this basic combination I have been able to find and view many different stellar objects including double stars, nebula (M-27 was my first) and lots of star clusters. While not intended for planetary viewing this scope has even performed well in this category considering its short focal length for wide-field views.
But this scope performs its very best on beautiful wide views on objects like the Pleiades, an all-time favorite of mine and my friends. Its only drawback is that it does NOT encompass go-to capability, but for how I and my family use this scope this is not a deterrent to ownership. We love this scope!
Favorite viewing location: Western Oregon
Favorite object to observe: Deep Sky Objects ie. Open Star Clusters, Nebula, Galaxies
Pros: value for the dollar, optics very good, rock solid construction, very easily transported, easy set-up for basic viewing, beautiful wide-field views
Cons: no go-to capability, not easily polar aligned
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Moon is Amazing!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Scovil84
from Las Vegas, NV
Age:25-34
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this telescope for my boyfriend and he loves it. The setup was a little confusing as this is his very first telescope, but he was able to complete the process in a couple hours (the instructions are a little confusing and took both of us to figure out some of the steps). Overall the setup process was helpful in learning how the scope functions and made it easier to learn how to use it.
We live in the city so there is quite a bit of light pollution, however the moon is amazing even with the city lights (I also purchased a moon filter and the Shorty 1.25" 2x Barlow Lens). We haven't taken it out of the city yet, so hopefully the deep space views are just as spectacular! We are also researching Astrophotography cameras to use with this scope.
Although we are both beginners I think this scope is perfect for us to start off with. I feel if we had gone with a lower level scope we would have gotten bored too soon and ended up upgrading to a better scope eventually. I'm sure this telescope will keep our attention for a very long time.
Favorite viewing location: Don't have one yet
Favorite object to observe: The moon so far
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Texasjherrera
from Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Condition Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this telescope for my birthday! After doing some research for buying my first telescope I narrowed it down to a refractor. I then decided to go with Orion, I found that they had a great selection of quality telescopes and discovered this particular telescope and told my self that I was going to get this one. My wife some how found out and got it for me and made me the happiest man!
Once I received it it said that assembly time would be around 30 minutes, I think, it took me like 45. I did an ok job because I watched YouTube videos on how to set up an equatorial mount, balance the telescope and insert eye pieces along with other general stuff so I think that helped a lot.
The first night I was easily able to locate and view Saturn and was amazed, the eyepieces were great which the telescope comes with two. Observed the moon and had a blast with my wife and kid.
The telescope is exactly what I expected and wanted, I'm very pleased 100%!
Favorite viewing location: Front yard. So far.
Favorite object to observe: Saturn. So far.
Pros: powerful, quality
Yes, I recommend this product!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Darn good beginner scope

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Kwang
from California
Age:35-44
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this scope on the recommendation from a friend. I have always loved astronomy and with my DSLR, digital astrophotography was definitely a growing interest. Although the learning curve is kinda steep for me, this telescope gives me the opportunity to learn stuff I need to learn anyways and is a good enough quality that I don't feel like I am on a tricycle.
The construction quality is pretty solid overall. There are parts that feel "cheap" mainly on the stand and mount for the OTA. The OTA itself is pretty solid IMO. When trying to photograph objects, I do get some wobble. On the one hand I really don't know if it's my inexperience or if the mount just can't handle the additional weight of the camera on the back end. I do have the dual axis drive motor as well. I will be attempting more tries for the Orion Nebula while it's visible and probably Jupiter again to see if I can get better results.
Below are some of my first tries at photography with no editing. Be kind.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: Orion Nebula
Pros: great optics
Cons: certain parts seem like they were hastily designed
Yes, I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Scope To Start Getting Into Astrophotography

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
waterfallsman
from Elkin NC 28621
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my 2ND Orion telescope. The1St was a the AstroView 90 great
scope,I sold it to help pay for this one & their is not room in the house for 2 telescope.
I got this telescope to getting into astrophotography.
Quality optics accompanying the size of the objective diameter. & e mount tripod is surprisingly well designed and constructed, considering the cost.
I got the scope on 12/12/12, my wife said she getting the Orion EQ-3M Drive System for Christmas. Only thing I done between the 12 & Christmas was to check the align of the polar scope it was in perfect alignment from the factory so didn't have to touch it !
I have a few eyepieces, ranging from 4, 6, 10, 12.5, 17, 19 Edge-On,
25, 32 & just got a DeepView 28 mm 2" off eBay (use) A few filters
Blue, yellow, Red, Polarize & a IR Blocking filter.Do need to get some filters for deep sky now.The 2 cameras i am using are the Rebel XT 350 or the Rebel T2i 550D. I just got the Orion 2" Zero-Profile Prime Focus Camera Adapter & I need to get the1.25" Orion Astrophotography Flip Mirror so I Can better focus.
Here some Pictures I made of this Scope so far. The nights I was able get out it was Cold low to Mid 20s
1St night out 12/30/12 to check it out, the moon was steal near full
was the M42 Orion Nebula pictures made at ISO 200 126sec
The 2Nd Night out was 1/03/13 M31 Andromeda Galaxy 218sec ISO 800
The 3Er war the IC-434, Horsehead Nebula 549sec ISO 800 &
M45 Pleaders 481sec ISO 400
I Am Very Happy I Got Batter Tracing Time I though you could get off this Mount. You have one very happy customer ! & would definately recommend this scope.
Favorite viewing location: Home back yard
Favorite object to observe: Saturn, Jupiter, any deep space object
Yes, I recommend this product!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the camera needs

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Sideswipe79
from Northwest Montana
Age:25-34
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality optics accompanying the size of the objective diameter. I have an XT10 Dob and it is very comparable in field of view. I bought this to get into astrophotography because my Dob does not have enough back focus. But with this it gets the job done. Yes there is a chromatic aberration but I can look past that. I'm after the ability to start taking pictures and track objects. So now I use my Dob for viewing and this one for taking pics. I would also recommend with the mount that comes with it a dual axis 3m drive and a electronic focused. Very good add on's to make it easier to use.
Favorite object to observe: Areas of the Summer Triangle and Leo when it comes around
Pros: ease of use, good for starting astrophotography
Cons: little on the heavy side, polar alignment scope should illuminated
Yes, I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Orion AstroView 120ST Equatorial Refractor Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing !

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Chckm8r
from S.W. Missouri
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
I just cannot say enough great things about this scope or describe the views one can see in words. Like my title says ; Simply Amazing ! With the wide field of view it's easy to find objects searched for in no time if one knows where to look. I highly recommend a person to purchase the shorty 2x barlow with this scope, it helps in so many ways. In the last 2 months Ive owned this scope Ive seen so many objects. Last night for instance I spotted a 10th magnitude comet which took about 20 minutes to find. Though this scope has setting circles and I know how to use them, I dont use them. This scope is awesome. Thank you so very much Orion for making this product . You have one very happy customer ! ~ Smiles ~
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: Orions Nebula (M42)
Pros: the views
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>