Customer reviews for Orion 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece

Orion 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece

The 35mm Orion DeepView is a low powered, wide field eyepiece that offers bright, sharp images of deep-space objects. Free of pincushion distortion and chromatic aberration, with long 20mm eye relief so even eyeglass wearers can view comfortably.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 Reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 3(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Review 1 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Customer avatar
from Olympia, WA
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Optical Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've given this eyepiece many chances. It's wide field is nice but, compared to my $300+ eyepiece which is truly crisp and clear from center to the outside edges, this one seems dull and underwhelming. It has helped me understand the truth of "you get what you pay for" with regard to eyepieces.
Favorite viewing location: Eastern Oregon
Favorite object to observe: M13
Pros: inexpensive, wide field of view
Cons: marginal optical quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deep View Indeed!

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Customer avatar
from Sacramento, CA
Age:35-44
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first 2" eyepiece! Was very impressed. Although the apparent FOV is in the low 50 degree range, like my 25 mm 1.25" Sirius Plossl, this gives a much more immersive feeling. Found globular clusters M2 & M15 using this eyepiece, "Turn Left at Orion" and a Rigel "Quikfinder." It's a joy just to sweep the sky with this. Looking forward to getting the 28mm DeepView. As always, Orion delivers!
Favorite viewing location: Backyard for now; will try a local park; need a good dark site
Favorite object to observe: Messier objects
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great eye piece, great price

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this eyepiece works great,lots of eye relief, and a very wide field of view.
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good value for long focal length scopes

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
from Stratford, CT
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In a fast Newtonian, the excessive coma will disappoint. If you have a Paracorr, you probably are buying more expensive eyepieces!
But in a f10 scope, this eyepiece really hits its stride. Stars are well-focused with just a hint of field curvature at the extreme edge. This eyepiece is light and an good value if you own a long refractor or SCT. It is just the thing for outreach and public nights.
Favorite viewing location: Stellafane
Favorite object to observe: Milky Way Starfields
Pros: inexpensive, light, works well at long focal lengths
Cons: not for short focal lengths, coma
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deep SPace Exploration

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
This is a great addition to my 2" lens set and to my veiwing pleasure. It has a very nice field of view and very very clear. Star clusters sparkle like diamonds and nebulas like the Orion M42 looked awesome adjacent to the surrounding stars which you can only see up close and personal with this eyepiece due to its expanse view. I recommend this eyepiece whole heartedly!!! Great value for the price too!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Almost great

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Everything is great except the strong field curvature. The center and edge og the FOV will not reach focus at the same time. At an intermediate focus position I can make the whole FOV look sharp if I really strain my eyes. Some people will find this uncomfortable. Others (with young, flexible eyes) wont even notice. I think most people on a budget are better off with a 32mm plossl. Better views, and much more compact.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not all i expected

PostedOctober 15, 2008
Customer avatar
this is a great lens, just not what i expected the field of view seems so small, very clear in center of lens but at not even half way out it blurs
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 35mm Orion DeepView Eyepiece
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

spoiled

PostedMay 6, 2008
Customer avatar
Great eyepiece. Only thing I have to say is Orion doesn't offer enough of them ....not like the 1.25 which they have plenty of. (They are) great but I'm spoiled now with the wider view of the 2 inch ....I'm new into astronomy and bought my first scope--the xt 10--and cant say enough great things about it... also just orderd the q 70 26mm eyepiece hope this one is just as nice.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.