Customer reviews for Orion Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular

Orion Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular

The Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular is your perfect all weather viewing companion. Quick set up and easy focus adjustment lets you capture those rare exciting moments up close. Includes a removable carrying strap.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 Reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Review 1 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best monocular for its price, and maybe beyond its price

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Customer avatar
1. Waterproof 2. Close focus of twenty inches 3. 10X42, great magnification and the view is bright and sharp 4. Tripod mountable, included lanyard screws into the tripod mount 5. Decent eye-relief for eyeglass wearers, does not have a fold-down eyecup, but an adjustable eyecup. When the eyecup is fully screwed down, this is best for eyeglass wearers (might still have to press in a little to get the full view, but not majorly). The eye cup can screw out for non-eyeglass wearers and reduce ambient light. 6.Has a main focusing ring, and then a fine focus to adjust for your particular eye(like the focusing ring on the right eye of binoculars). 7.Comes with padded case w/belt loop 8. Very comfortable to hold I can't say enough good things about this scope. You get all the bells and whistles with it. I haven't tested it in low light yet, will be doing that tonight. Thanks Orion for a great scope.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monoculars

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Customer avatar
This was an excellent purchase. The delivery was incredibly fast. I am very happy with the monoculars. They are very handy for taking on hikes and easy to store in a jacket pocket.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just fair

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Customer avatar
As I had suspected, this optic would benefit from stabilization. At ten power, it is rather shaky. It can be mounted on a tripod, but then if one is going to that kind of trouble they may as well use binoculars. Presumably this is designed for portability and convenience for that quick look at something. Ideally it would come with stabilization, but even with reduced power one would get a steadier image. The glass is decent, but images didn't appear as bright as I thought they would with a 42mm objective. I'd give it two and a half stars if I could.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty good

PostedApril 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Views through the monocular are pretty good. It has some field curvature but for quick views it's not too bad. No lens caps are provided. The very thin string on the carrying strap won't last long at all! It also has some specks of something on the internal lenses. If I didn't have to pay for shipping I would return it.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my monocular

PostedApril 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Hey, I really enjoy this Orion 10x42 waterproof monocular. It is compact and comes with a case that loops onto my belt for easy packing, and it has a great crisp view. Besides giving me a great look at birds and animals, I've easily seen things like theBeehive cluster in Cancer and other cool stuff, when I couldn't see them with the naked eye. And it's so easy to carry right there on my belt. I really like it.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad for the $

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Not bad for the $. It is a little more powerful and less than half the price of the Brunton Macroscope. It has two focusing rings (course and fine) where the Brunton has one. I found the close focus distance to be 28" not 20" where the Brunton is 18"
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10x42 Monocular

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
I love it. Easy to carry and use. The quality of the viewing is excellent whether it be birds or Orion.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best all Around

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
With portability, great optics and dual speed focusing puts this Monocular on top. Even the soft case fits well and is constructed to last unlike some others. No lens caps though and thats the only fault. You won't lose the pouch as easy as a cap. Lanyard, lens cloth and a nifty 1/4 x 20 mount are fine extras. It is a great value and I will get another. Orion is awesome from price, product to delivery.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10x42 Waterproof Monocular Rocks!

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Nice instrument, good value for the money. Quality optics, bright images...nice rubberized non-slip housing. Focus works very well, but not immediately intuitively obvious as to how to do it. Very portable, light-weight. Would buy one again for sure. Recommended if you want a light-weight travel-friendly telescope.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent monocular

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
from Campo CA
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This monocular is the best I've ever used. GREAT!!
Favorite viewing location: mountains and desert
Favorite object to observe: scenary
Yes, I recommend this product!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

need a little bit larger aperture, maybe more than 5.0mm

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
from Kailua-Kona , HI
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
Optical Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is good about its magnitude, but not enough large its aperture. I need more bigger aperture and chea
No, I do not recommend this product.
-24points
1of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and unbulky, it's easy to carry with you in woods, at shore, whereever

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
from Cleveland, Ohio
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price, this is a fine quality product. The large and fine focus wheels allows the monocular to work great with or without my glasses.
Favorite viewing location: At Lake Erie Shore, park forests, or from 19th floor of my office building
Favorite object to observe: Great Lakes ships and boats; birding and wildlife; city construction
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good idea, and the optical performance is good. However, the mechanical execution is poor.

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
from Mountain View CA
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The idea of having a coarse and a fine focus in order to cover a very wide range of distances is exactly what I needed for a special application. The ability to focus as close as about 50 cm is the reason I bought it as an optical instrument.
Unfortunately, the motion as delivered was sticky and unsatisfactory. Sometimes the focus functions (both of them) work well, but in some positions, they jam, and more force is needed to get past that position. Then the focus jumps when the resistance is overcome. After exercising the fine focus quite a bit, its motion became smoother, but the coarse focus still tends to bind at one place. The primary reason for binding of the coarse focus is friction between the external rotating cylinder and its neighboring, external parts. Unscrewing the front part of the monocular a small fraction of a turn gets around the problem, but that is not a solution to a problem of assembly tolerances.
Bottom line: Useful optical device, but mechanical construction leaves something to be desired.
Pros: wide focal range, close focus
Cons: poor assembly
Yes, I recommend this product!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the $$ but not that bright

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer avatar
from Memphis, TN
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I compared the brightness of this 10x42 monocular to my decades-old Swift 8x30 monocular - and it is noticeably less bright. It is barely brighter than looking through one barrel of a Pentax 8.5x21 binocular. Nevertheless it's a good value for the money and optically fairly sharp, just don't think you're getting top quality!
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great View for the Price

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
from Middle Tennessee
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
A great companion on the motorcycle to zoom in on the town and country action. Good close range focus is great to zoom in on a critter or my cat. I like it!
Favorite viewing location: Outside
Favorite object to observe: Birds, animals, people and the moon.
Pros: compact, quality, close focus, carrying case
Yes, I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant optics

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from St Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was amazed the first time I looked through it. I have a 8x20 fully multi coated monocular already from your site years ago, and it serves its purpose fine, I just wanted a higher power. I bought the 10x25 fully coated (I thought it was fully multi coated) and was immediately disappointed. So I bought this one, not really wanting such a large monocular, but I did want the fully multi coated lenses. From the moment I looked through it I was dazzled. I will put up with the larger size to get this quality. Others have complained about the focusing being sticky, I have not had that problem at all. The only thing I don’t like is the lanyard, I would prefer a smaller wrist strap as opposed to a neck strap. That seems pretty petty if this is the biggest complaint.
If you are looking for a quality monocular, and do not mind the larger size, this is the one to get.
Favorite viewing location: out my window
Favorite object to observe: barges on the Mississippi, I have a good view from my location
Pros: quality optics, reasonable price (for the size)
Cons: would prefer a wrist strap rather than a neck stra, wanted a smaller size
Yes, I recommend this product!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
freddie
 
Please wait while more information about freddie is loaded.
Additional information about freddie could not be loaded.
what? why use 1 eye when you have 2?
Posted October 24, 2013
why use 1 eye when you have 2? mdgross, are you sure about this?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for hiking

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought it to use when hiking. Much lighter than my Orion 10x50 binoculars. It was great for a quick look at the scenery & wildlife If it had lens covers and strap for the carrying case I would have rated it a 5.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two-foot focusing is a wonderful feature!

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
from Michigan City, IN
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can focus in on items as close as two foot away! So 10x on something two feet away lets you really see some great detail. Of course, it focuses to infinity as well. Great, clear optics. Other pluses: waterproof (not just water resistant); rubber armored; a separate "fine focusing" feature.
As for cons: the carrying case is flimsy and quickly wore out; there are no lens caps. And I wish I could buy a replacement strap (I lost mine a couple of days ago).
But the cons are not enough to take away from the 5-star rating I am giving it.
Favorite viewing location: Indiana Dunes
Favorite object to observe: Wildlife
Pros: 2 foot focusing, waterproof, rubber armored, crystal-clear optics, fine focusing adjustment
Cons: flimsy case, unable to buy replacement strap
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.