Customer reviews for Orion Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV

Orion Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV

Capture images of the Moon, planets, and Sun with the Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imager IV. Small pixels provide exceptional resolution, and the included software allows the astrophotographer to process the images for fantastic results.
Overall rating:
3.982 / 5
4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 Reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
43 out of 51(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Review 1 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice starter camera

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Frank OB1
from Delaware, Ohio
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good starter camera. Easy to learn the basics and easy to use. Nothing fancy but nice to get started with.
Favorite viewing location: Central Ohio
Favorite object to observe: Saturn, Jupiter, any deep space object
Pros: easy to learn the basics
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT starter Solar System Imging camera!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Phaedrus
from Southern Indiana
Age:Over 65
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Orion Star Shoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV is the best thing going for the armature astronomer who wants to explore the possibilities of capturing images, doesn’t want to spend a small fortune and realizes there is a bit of learning curve involved in producing astrophotography. Astrophotography may or may not be for you, however this camera and software package is one of the least expensive and fastest ways of finding out. For the price I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
The included software installed quickly and flawlessly. Yes, it does have a bit of a learning curve, however it is nothing the average amateur astronomer can’t handle with just a bit of effort. In a very few minutes I was actually looking at sharp clear images of the moon on my computer screen. One must remember though that when focusing you must give the imaging chip enough time to render the video picture to the computer screen. So you must adjust your focuser very slowly. The supplied software can help in finessing the detail of the acquired image. Although this takes a bit of practice I personally I believe the AmCap software is quite intuitive and easy to use. The images have great color and the resolution (1024x768) is fantastic.
The Orion Star Shoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV is a great product, excellent value and just downright fun to use. I have a very rewarding time displaying the video and images I have captured with it to my family and friends.
Favorite viewing location: Five Oaks Observatory, my backyard roll off roof observatory.
Favorite object to observe: The Sun, Moon, Planets, Doubles, Variables and faint fuzzes.
Pros: lightweight camera, intuitive software, fun to use
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value For The Price

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Chuck1962
from Central New York
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
I bought this camera mainly to use as a planetary camera and for electronic polar alignment of the mount. It took a few moments to set up and has one glitch which is annoying. You have to use the same USB port you installed the camera with everytime you use the camera or it won't recoginize the device. I called Orion Tech Support and they verified this happens from time to time. It should never happen! Other than that, it is a good value and a decent camera.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard OBS
Favorite object to observe: DSO's
Yes, I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Starter Camera

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
waterfallsman
from Elkin NC 28621
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as a starter camera to learn astrophotography, and for the price, I recommend it to anyone
Here a picture of the moon first time i use it
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can’t Complain - With Caveats

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Sifu Mosher
from West Columbia, SC
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I cannot offer any real complaints about the StarShooter IV. It is convenient. It’s software and driver loaded effortlessly on my Acer Netbook, and works well.
Please note that this camera is best designed for telescopes with a 1000mm focal length or greater.
I have a StarBlast 4.5, with a 450mm focal length. I knew when I purchased the camera that I was going to try and push the camera’s capabilities with an undersized telescope. That said, it does provide nice images of the Moon, and I am sure it will provide nice images of the Sun with a proper Sun Filter.
With my undersized scope, it does not provide usable images of planets or other objects. I have tried using a 3x Barlow Lens, which has made some planetary imagery possible, but the quality is poor. I do not see this as reflection of the camera, given that I am pushing things beyond their limits.
If you have a sufficiently large telescope, I feel like this is a great, inexpensive start for astrophotography. If you have a smaller telescope and are content with images of the Moon, Sun, or Terrestrial objects, this camera will work fine for you.
The image was taken with the StarShooter IV on 02/15/2013 at 6:11pm Eeastern Time (late dusk), using only the StarShooter IV and a Polarizing Filter through my StarBlast 4.5' Newtonian telescope.
Favorite viewing location: My backyard
Favorite object to observe: Lunar, Planetary
Pros: convienent
Cons: requires a large telescope
Yes, I recommend this product!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tom F
Pennsylvania
 
Please wait while more information about Tom F is loaded.
Additional information about Tom F could not be loaded.
Posted May 2, 2013
I too have a StarBlast 4.5 and am looking to get into astro-photography. The photo of the moon you took is pretty darn nice! You've convinced me to go ahead and make this purchase, thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad for solar system imaging

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Ron152
from New York
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
This is a pretty cool camera for solar system viewing. Don't expect to see any thing but planets with it. It does what it advertises so what else could you ask for out of it? You can even attach filters too it which is pretty cool. Its a good way to learn and practice astrophotagraphy.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

camera function

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Brian M
I bought this little camera to use with my solar filters from Orion. The AMCAP soft wear worked well with Windows 7 after I uninstalled the AMCAP I received with a smaller camera that I had bought from another source. It works well with both cameras now. I like the idea of getting into the astro-photography part with not a big investment. The camera does meet my expectations for the large objects. It also does well for terrestial objects also. Like any camera, you have to keep on working with it by taking thousands of photos! It really is a lot of fun, just stick with it and that really fine one will pop out, and, it will be yours! Thanks Orion, Brian Montague
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A solid entry-level eyepiece camera

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer avatar
jcy6470
from Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This camera is a respectable entry-level imaging device for those wishing to capture solar system or terrestrial objects with a small telescope.
The driver software installs quickly and easily, and allows the user to switch among multiple cameras.
While not recommended for use with a diagonal in the documentation, the form factor of the StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV will clear the base of a wedge-mounted Schmidt-Cassegrain even with a diagonal installed. This allows the viewer to access objects near the celestial pole. However, since the CMOS camera is not optimized for deep-sky objects, this specific configuration is unlikely.
Favorite viewing location: Campus star party
Favorite object to observe: This season it's been M57.
Pros: ease of use, fast install, trouble-free software, reasonably priced
Cons: short cable, not for deep-sky objects
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A User Friendly Way To Get Into Solar System Imaging

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Fuzzee1
from Birmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This little camera is a great way to get into solar system imaging. Just because it does not cost a million bucks does not mean you can't take some great images of solar system objects. It's very easy to use right out of the box. You just install the software and with a little practice you can be imaging the moon, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. If you want to get into solar system imaging this little camera is a great place to start.
Favorite viewing location: My backyard
Favorite object to observe: Jupiter, Saturn, the Moon , Mars and Venus
Pros: easy to use, you won't need to win the lottery to buy it, takes great images of solar system objects
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome camera for the price!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Tom F
from Pennsylvania
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I received this camera and within minutes, had it installed on my laptop, telescope outside and was already capturing video of the Sun. For the price you pay, it is a wonderful - WONDERFUL introduction into Astrophotography. It's very easy to use the capture software. All you have to do is use your finder scope, look at your laptop/PC and focus as necessary. I do wish the USB cable could have been a tad longer, but that wouldn't take away any stars.
Two things I want to reiterate what others have said earlier - 1. FOCUS SLOWLY! I cannot stress this enough. It's not a bad thing - just takes a little patience and a steady hand to focus. The results are worth it ;). 2. This is not for deep space, star cluster, etc. imaging camera. This is strictly for planetary imaging; Moon, Sun, Jupiter, Saturn, etc.
The software that comes with the camera is pretty straight to the point - Registax does have a little learning curve, but you can easily find tutorials on youtube and other sources on how to use it to get a general, basic idea. Don't be intimidated by it, good things take time, practice and most of all - patience. Trust me, it will be rewarding in the end!
To sum up - I cannot say enough good things about this camera. If you have realistic expectations compared to other CCD cameras that are $300+, for under $100 you cannot go wrong. It's a very good camera and I recommend you purchase this!
Below are two videos; one of the Sun and one of the Moon that I took (linked via Youtube). I also attached a picture of the moon I took. I didn't do a whole lot of stacking/imaging because it was getting late - but like I said earlier, with patience and practice you will get better.
Other Equipment used for capturing:
-Orion StarBlast 4.5 EQ
-5.81" ID Orion Full Aperture Solar Filter
-1.25" Orion 13% Transmission Moon Filter
-Orion Shorty 1.25" 2x Barlow Lens
Favorite viewing location: Home/backyard
Favorite object to observe: Moon, Sun, Jupiter, Saturn.
Pros: quick setup, good image quality, easy to use (camera and software)
Cons: wish it had longer usb cable
Yes, I recommend this product!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good intermediate **planetary** imager

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
DobFan
from Atlanta, GA
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Contrary to what a couple of preceeding reviews imply, planetary and lunar imaging are not what one would call forms of starter astrophotography. On an unrelated note, a planetary imager probably shouldn't be named "StarShoot."
The majority of the less-than-positive reviews I've read about this product appear to be conveying the expectation that this was a deep sky imager and seem to misunderstand that this is a lunar and planetary imager, and a decent one at that given the price point. With a handful of high-end exceptions, all lunar and planetary imagers are web cams in some form or another (CCD or CMOS) modified to fit into the focuser tube of a telescope. This particular product is no different.
Lunar and planetary imaging involves taking a video clip and using special software to separate each frame of the video clip into a separate picture, then using the same software to stack those frames on top of each other to combine all of the details of multiple pictures into one picture. It sounds complicated, but the softare does most of the work. Registax is free software for this purpose and is probably the most commonly used application for stacking planetary images. I've found that most of the best software for astronomy purposes is free - written by astronomers for astronomers (Stellarium for example).
Ditch the AmCap video capture software and go with something like HandyAVI from AzCendant, which is not free but worth the modest cost. There are a lot more features and it installs flawlessly. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the included AmCap software. I've used another brand of planetary imager that included AmCap and I had the same installation problems. I wouldn't fault the Orion product for this, rather I fault Microsoft, the producer of AmCap.
While it's not necessary, I would also recommend picking up a focal reducer which will give you lower magnification and a wider field of view, as web cam imagers are usually the equivalent of looking through a 5 mm eyepiece - high magnification and narrow field of view. Lastly, I would recommend buying a longer USB cable so you can set up your laptop at a more comfortable distance.
Expect to spend some time learning how to image the moon and the planets. Like anything in astronomy, a little effort is required to conquer the learning curve.
Favorite viewing location: Charlie Elliot Wildlife Mgt Area
Favorite object to observe: M42 - The Orion Nebula
Pros: high resolution for the price (1024x768), reasonably priced, good frame rate for l&p imaging (15fps)
Cons: included software is not that great, short usb cable
Yes, I recommend this product!
Response from OrionBy Tech SupportSeptember 19, 2011
The supplied software installs and runs on Windows 7 32 and 64 bit environments; the most current versions available to date.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Video capture.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Cruze51
from San Diego, CA
Age:Over 65
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
This is my start into astrophotography and I'm on a steep learning curve. Remove the eyepiece and insert camera, refocus, that my challenge to refocus. Otherwise I love this thing, I plan on purchasing a reducer and see if that might help because the new image is so amazingly large to deal with.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: Sun, moon, plants
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well ... mostly

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
skywatcher62
from San Carlos, CA
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used this to image the sun, moon and planets with success. In particular, I got a very nice recording of the entry of Venus across the Sun's disk during the most recent transit.
Overall, it works well, when it works - I use the Mac version of the software, and found I could not get it to work reliably on one of my laptops. On another, however, it was flawless.
I never figured out what the problem was, and the tech support could not help.
The Mac software could use more documentation - some of the options are not described adequately.
Pros: good value
Cons: mac software not as good as it should be
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well....patience counts

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
markus1416
from Pa
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall I am pleased with the camera. Focusing and adjustments are difficult if your not able to track the object your viewing. I am expecting the delivery of Orion Dual Axis TrueTrack Telescope Drive tomorrow. I'll see if there is a difference in performance.
I will say that this beginners camera is certainly durable and mostly unaffected by changes of temperature and dew settling in..Also at risk of voiding my warranty I will admit to tripping over the USB cable(s) while the camera was not in use and it falling to the ground.,,,,amateur photography is fun!!!
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: experimenting
Pros: durable
Cons: adjustments not clearly identified in manual
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 1st Imager

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Cole
from Jackson, Wyoming
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For over 2 years, ever since I have really gotten into astronomy with my first scope, I have always had a yearning to take pictures of the planets I was seeing through my eyepiece. And after contemplating for many days of what imager I should get, I finally settled for the Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV. So finally, this is my first true planetary/lunar imager. I am very satisfied with my purchase. I set up the software in less than 10 minutes and the camera was ready right out of the box. That night I started imaging Jupiter. It was hard at first to get Jupiter to show up on my laptop screen. I began to worry that what people said about this imager unable to image the planets was true because it couldn't pick up enough light. THAT'S FALSE. The trick is to adjust the focuser SLOWLY-- very important. Adjusting too fast doesn't give the imaging chip enough time to pick up the light. Adjusting the viewing controls helps out a lot too, especially to bring out more detail and future processing. Also, the Amcap software supplied with the imager was great, too. I don't see why people think it was trash. For the amateur like me, it's simple and to the point. I can't wait to make a Lunar mosaic.
Overall, this is a great product for anyone who wants to get into the fun of planetary and lunar imaging. I highly recommend it. And remember, focus slowly.
Favorite viewing location: Home
Favorite object to observe: M 51 and M 3
Yes, I recommend this product!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Starter astrophotography

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer avatar
RedBrick
from Rochester, NY
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
The setup was rather simple and it worked right out of the box. This was an exceptional feature. However its image quality for astrophotography is limited. I put together some incredible lunar shots, nothing short of wow. Thats it though. There is nothing with enough brightness to generate an image any image! I have this mounted on my new ORION 120STEQ f5 scope. Optical speed should not be an issue. For lunar photography and maybe solar photography this item is great. Past that I simply don't see it. Literally.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: low light capacity
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OrionBy Tech SupportJuly 25, 2011
This camera is designed for planetary and lunar imaging. We’re glad to hear that your lunar images were impressive. You may find it helpful to know that The auto white feature can be turned off to image low light objects such as Saturn. We do offer imagers with more light-sensitive chips for deep space imaging. As you might expect they are more expensive than this camera; but if you’re looking to image stars, galaxies and nebulae we think you’ll be more satisfied with our StarShoot Pro DeepSpace Imaging Camera.

http://www.telescope.com/Astrophoto...


+10points
16of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RedBrick
Rochester, NY
 
Please wait while more information about RedBrick is loaded.
Additional information about RedBrick could not be loaded.
response to tech support response
Posted August 10, 2011
Thank you for responding to the review. I love ORION tech support, its why I continue to shop at ORION.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple To Operate

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Bullpup
from Rural, Mo.
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first camera that operates from a laptop. I used nothing but a digtal camera before this. Before I first used this camara, I purchased orions flip mirror to make it as easy as possible for me to locate my targets. This camera is small and very light in weight. It is very well constructed, and easy to operate. I use registax to process my avi videos, and the results are very good indeed.
Favorite viewing location: My rural home
Favorite object to observe: Lunar and Planetary
Pros: very light, well constructed, easy to operate, great photo capability, good price
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Beginner Camera

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Riau
from Maryland
Age:18-24
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Software Installation & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
The Starshoot imaging camera has decent photo quality for planetary and lunar viewing.
As an amateur star gazer who has no previous knowledge of this kind of software, installation was simple and fast. Getting a handle on adjusting settings for exposure and frame rate took a bit of time. I do recommend first time use during the day time for set up and first few attempts at taking video and stacking the images with the provided software.
Overall the price of the camera is worth the investment to learn the software and many techniques that will assist with any future upgrades!
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good camera for the money

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from Casper, WY
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Image Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The camera is well made, and the image quality is what should be expected from a 1/3" format CCD. I am using the camera with an Orion SVP 8, under Debian Linux with a kernel version of 2.6, so I have no comments on the included software. However, for linux users, the camera is recognized by 2.6 and (presumably) later kernels. I use the Gnome desktop and the Cheese webcam software to take photos, and the Gimp to stack and manipulate the images. The image capture process is easier if your hardware supports an accelerated graphics driver, such as those available from nVidia and ATI. Images of Jupiter and the moon are good, and I suspect will get better. I hope this is helpful.
Favorite viewing location: Anyplace away from city lights
Favorite object to observe: Deep sky
Pros: useable under linux
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Orion StarShoot Solar System Color Imaging Camera IV
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good For A First Step

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
worriedman
from Mount Carmel, TN
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
This camera works very well but it also takes work on your part. I am a beginner at photography with the telescope and after a few evenings am now making some progress. I bought this camera to learn how the process works without spending a large amount and the camera works really well. Begin during the day and become familiar with the way everything goes together. It does take some practice! Attached is an image of the Moon taken on the second night of trying.
Favorite viewing location: My Backyard
Favorite object to observe: Moon and Planets
Pros: image quality for the price
Yes, I recommend this product!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>