Customer reviews for Orion Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount

Orion Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount

The Orion Sirius EQ-G GoTo Telescope Mount is less hefty than the Orion Atlas but with the same drive motors, electronic features, and functionality. This mount can hold up to a 30lb load and allows you to select from 42,900 objects in the database.
Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 Reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Review 1 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used the Sirius EQ-G twice now and it is a real observing pleasure.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
from Cedar Hill, TX
Age:55-65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GoTo Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After 25 years I decided to update my 6", F5 refractor telescope with a new computerized mount. During this time I was using a Celestron equitorial mount mounted on a wooden tripod. It worked well for casual observing but inadequate for anything else. After some research I decided on the Sirius EQ -G and it was the right choice. There was a bit of a learning curve in the set up process but once I got a handle on it, the process went smoothly. I especially like the polar alignment feature, adjustments to precisely align my scope and the fantastic Go To feature. In combination these features save considerable searching and adjustment time, allowing more time for observing. I have also purchased the Stratus 17mm & 13 mm eyepecies. Great! Thanks!
Favorite viewing location: Santa Fe New Mexico Area
Favorite object to observe: Galactic Nebulas and Galaxys
Pros: accurate, prolongs observing time
Cons: slightly steep learning curve
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Used and Sturdy!

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Loveland, CO
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using my Sirius EQ-G for some time now with two different Optical Tube Assemblies: Orion ED80 Apo Refractor and a modified Meade LXD75 SN6 (sometimes with a piggybacked Short Tube 80 on the SN6). I have not had any issues with Polar Alignment, Sidereal Tracking, Solar Tracking, or Autoguiding. The mount is sturdy and reliable in all aspects. With a very good polar alignment, I have been able to take descent 2 minute exposures without autoguiding and showing little to no star streaking or smearing within the images.
The attached photo was captured with the Orion ED80 Apo Refractor and 50mm Guide Scope, using the G3 Color Imager for guiding.
Favorite viewing location: Loveland, Colorado and the Pawnee Grasslands
Favorite object to observe: Nebulae, Galaxies, and Star Clusters (just about everything)
Pros: great for astrophotography
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid, works well, easy to setup and use

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
from Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm new to astrophotography and even learning the night sky for that matter. Normally shoot wildlife (with camera) and landscapes. I am using the mount with a camera lens (Canon 600mm f/4L IS). 600mm, 1200mm with 2x extender, and 1680 2x + 1.4X stacked extenders. About a 16 pound payload.
I find the mount is very easy to assemble. I have owned the Sirius for less than a month and have made it out 4 times to use it. I was able to get about 3 minutes of exposure at 600mm just before the stars began to elongate. The last time out I only got about 1 minute, or 30 sec at 1680mm. (note: I'm extremely picky about details like ovalized stars) I think I know what I did wrong the last time. My alignment with Polaris was just getting it on the finderscope Polaris circle and not aligning it with where it should be on the circle relative to it's current position in the sky. The first couple of times was dumb luck. I think I can probably get much better tracking 4 minutes maybe at 600mm if I take the time to align it correctly.
The Sirius is light enough to quickly load up and take off in the car. Quick to setup and tear down. The Atlas would be overkill for me and would be a bit more weight to handle.
I'm getting photos of things that I have never even seen before; Andromeda Galaxy, Orion Nebula, Triangulum Galaxy. This is working out well for photography. It's also nice to have the port for the autoguider for when I am ready to take that step.
For power I picked up a 12.5aH lead acid battery at the battery plus store. I used some crimp terminals, an inline fuse holder with a 5A fuse and a 3 port car power adapter and made my own power connector for the battery. Have been out 4 times and only recharged the battery twice. The Sirius only draws about 0.5A while tracking.
I'm very happy with the Sirius mount. It works for my photography, for viewing with a telescope, it should track for hours before you needed to adjust it. Now I just need to learn the names and locations of the alignment stars so I don't need a cheat sheet.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JasonM
Idaho Falls, ID
 
Please wait while more information about JasonM is loaded.
Additional information about JasonM could not be loaded.
Posted March 10, 2013
Thank you for posting the current draws! Not many would report that sort of _important_ out-in-the-field usage data.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent mid-size mount

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
from Mason, MI
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I upgraded to a 115mm APO trpilet refractor (19-pounds ready for imaging), my trusty SkyView Pro mount was simply not capable of handling the weight and inertia of the new instrument. The Sirius ED-G immediately got my attention as it would mate to the same hardware I had fabricated to mount the older SVP to my pier, but with a 30-pound weight rating it should have power in reserve.
Even though I had no plans to use the tripod, it was extremely solid in terms of construction and should easily handle the weight specified for the mount. The Sirius itself is massive and extremely solid. It is also well though-out. Only two connections are made to the mount in non-guided operation - the hand controller and the 12V power cable. Having the polar alignment scope (illuminated) as a standard feature is very helpful.
One feature not hinted at in the manual is the complete compatibility of the Sirius hand controller with the Orion GPS module (#07949). Manual entry of location and time information is extremely tedious with the hand controller and the GPS enables you to bypass those steps. If the controller detects the GPS module, it automatically skips manual entry of time, date, and location and gets the data directly from the GPS once the latter has locked to the satellite! Very nice!
The manual is quite clear and assembly of the tripod and mount is a simple job. You have three alignment options - one, two, and three stars. GOTO is satisfactory with even a one-star alignment. Accuracy improves with two stars and I find that is the best trade-off in terms of ease of alignment and GOTO accuracy. If your scope is mounted on a pier or you don't move the tripod, future observing sessions do not require that you align the system prior to observing.
A very wide range of slew rates are provided that fit everything from a trip from one side of the sky to another to the merest nudge to finalize targeting, The noise is not particularly loud at the fastest slew rates and it handles my 19-pound refractor with authority. Tracking is very smooth, precise, and accurate.
I expect the load rating for my old SVP was a bit optimistic, but the Sirius seems like it could handle even more than its rated 30-pounds if you balance the telescope carefully. Orion has a winner with this mount!
Favorite viewing location: Central Michigan
Favorite object to observe: Planetary imaging
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Mount!

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from Mass
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tracking Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an excellent mount! No issues setting it up and using it my first night out with it. Tracks very well, slews fast and once you get the hang of the alignment stars, aligning is a snap! The only, very minor, challenge I have is leveling it prior to use, but there may be a trick out there that I haven't discovered for this.
Favorite viewing location: Pyrites, NY
Favorite object to observe: Saturn
Pros: easy setup, tracking, polar alignment
Yes, I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sirius EQ-G

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
from Delaware, Ohio
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tracking Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Original purchase with a Orion 8" SCT. Tracks great and easy to use. Does a better job of tracking than some other high end tripod/mount units. Well worth the value and it is definitely a keeper.
OB1
Favorite viewing location: Central Ohio
Favorite object to observe: Jupiter, Saturn, Etc.
Pros: great tracking, easy to use
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orion Sirius EQ-G Tracking Mount

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
from Stehekin and East Wenatchee WA
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far, I have the 'Sirius' set up in my bedroom waiting-waiting-waiting for the Explore Scientific "Comet Hunter" telescope to be shipped.
After examining the robust construction of the mount and reading the user manual, it became apparent that the mount might be put to excellent use on cloudy nights (daytime too) by installing a pair of lightweight 144MHz short-boom (10-footers) antennas and use the mount to track the moon during EME communications attempts.
I'll have to examine the mechanical torquing due to wind-loading of such an arrangement to ensure that no damage to the tracker happens.
Once my telescope arrives I'll be able to more fully evaluate the mount and see if my entry-level equipment purchase was a wise decision!
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DXVictor
Hahns Peak, CO
 
Please wait while more information about DXVictor is loaded.
Additional information about DXVictor could not be loaded.
Interesting idea for EME
Posted October 18, 2012
I had thought of trying to use and equatorial mount for pointing yagi antennas for radio astronomy. Searching around the web I don't find much amateur activity in radio astronomy. At least, not that's been documented in any blog or web page.
2 10' 144 MHz yagi antennas seem like they might be a bit much. But going up to 430 to 450 MHz greatly reduces the size of antennas and allows you to build them with much higher gain (more elements and possibly 4 instead of 2 yagis).
432 MHz is probably as good or better than 144 Mhz for bouncing a signal off the moon. But, better yet, I would think this arrangement would open up some real radio astronomy possibilities. Knowing where your array is pointing is fundamental to making any sense out of the vast amounts of noise your receiver will pick up.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mount

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
from Mesquite TX
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tracking Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am fairly new to the hobby but I know quality when I see it. The mount is very sturdy yet is easy to travel with. Once I learned the basics I find it easy to set up and align. I added the GPS to go with it and works even better !!!!
Favorite viewing location: Goldwaithe TX
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Orion's hidden gems

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer avatar
from Clever, Missouri
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tracking Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have owned this mount for over 1 year and can't say enough good about it. This mount is used exclusively for astro-photgraphy and has performed very, very well. It is mounted with my Explore Scientific 102mm APO, Starlight Express H-18 (including filter wheel and lodestar#. It connects seemlessly with GPUSB on the autoguide port #very handy). The 3 star alignment is enough for making sure all targets are in the camera FOV across the entire sky. The mount/tripod are very light weight so it is very easy to transport from my garage to my driveway for AP sessions. At about a 16 pound load, the tracking is perfect. The only thing I would change is a slightly longer cable for the control pad but you can acquire aftermarket extensions for this. This mount has exceeded my expectations and has allowed me to up my game with astro-photography, even without PEC training, PHD allows me to guide within .25 pixels at a focal length of 714mm with this mount.
Favorite viewing location: Clever, Missouri
Favorite object to observe: M42
Pros: stable and accurate, lightweight
Cons: short control paddle cable
Yes, I recommend this product!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a product which needs more recognition

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tracking Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have both the Sirius and Atlas mountings. Both are very adequate for the work I do, mainly variable star observation and photometry. Other imaging is a plus. As I have gotten older it has become more difficult to handle the Atlas mounting. I realize this is not a problem for younger men, but the Sirius is much easier to handle and I haven't noticed any degradation in the quality of the images and or general stability of the scope. I use the Sirius mounting for my 180 mm MakCass. and have had very satisfactory experience with both the goto feature as well as
tracking in general. I have had the Sirius for a couple of months and think it of equal, if not better overall quality, than the Atlas for the work I do.
I recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent mount

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
from Huntsville, Tx
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tracking Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have only had this mount about a month but so far it has exceeded all expectations. I bought a setup for astrophotography and this mount has filled that role perfectly.
Favorite viewing location: Dark site outside of town
Pros: stable, quieter than others
Cons: heavy
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orion Sirius EQ-G Mount - Nice Investment

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
I bought the Orion Sirius Equatorial Mount for astrophotography, wanting to use an upper limit of 8" aperture scopes. So far, I have been fascinated on how it handles my 120mm Omni refractor, with very precise slewing and tracking. This is my first GOTO mount, and because of that I thought that I was going to be difficult to operate it, but I was able to polar align it and do the three-star alignment correctly on the field without even looking at the manual. It's very user-friendly. I think I have made a good purchase, since it shipped without any defects that I would noticed and it working just as advertised. I recommend it so far. It's superior to the CG5-ASGT.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
POOALL
QUEENS ,NY
 
Please wait while more information about POOALL is loaded.
Additional information about POOALL could not be loaded.
I FINDED BAD PROBLEM...
Posted February 1, 2012
DID YOU SEE THE ALLIGN SCOPE?
REALLY BAD PRODUCT...
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Performer

PostedFebruary 20, 2009
Customer avatar
The first night out with the EQ-G was delightful. The EQ-G is heavy, solid, and has buttery-smooth bearings. Lining it up with Polaris using the built-in mount scope makes setup a breeze. I've used it with a Meade ETX-125 scope tube and with a Orion 8"SCT. Neither begin to tax the drive motors or clutches. I had forgot to order a second 11 lb weight, so I was scope-side heavy, but the clutches didn't slip and the drive motors didn't even strain. And as far as the drive train, it is solid without any perceptable backlash. It slews perfectly to objects without any "rubberbanding" or overshoot. Another point is that the motor drive is microstepped stepping motors, not cheap brush-type DC motors. Each step is precise and repeatable instead of depending upon an encoder wheel to keep the drive rate constant. I highly recommend it to anyone who is moving up from a low-end fork-mount to a EQ type mount.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orion should make more noise about this mount

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Customer avatar
As a novice astronomer, I tentatively ordered the Sirius Go To mount after having had such a good time with the StarQuest 4.5 dob. I was primarily interested in long exposure photography and visual use. At first I had some issues with some excessive noise and slipping gears, and even a tripod that was delivered to me broken. To Orion's credit they replaced the faulty items without any problems at all and it's been plain sailing since. Actually I think that Orion "under sells" this mount - it's a real alternative to the Atlas mount since it doesn't weigh as much but has the same drives. It carries my 120mm refractor plus 80mm guide scope, and DSLR without any trouble. The tracking is excellent and better than many more expensive scopes, from what I've read. The only obvious omission from the Orion line up is a mount extension for the Sirius, which would help with those objects at zenith. A great mount, even for a beginner, if you're willing to spend some time and effort with the equipment, it's very rewarding.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I have reservations about this Mount

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
from California
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let me first confess that this is my first GoTo mount so that you can decide whether I'm incompetent and skip reading the rest of my review. I do own an Astroview mount with dual axis drives.
I've had this mount for over two years and have both been pleased and frustrated by it. Let me go straight to the negatives as others have covered the many positives.
ALIGNMENT
My biggest frustrations revolve around alignment.
1. The DECL axis must be turned 90 degrees or so from the parked position in order to sight through the polar tube (why this is a problem is coming).
2. The counterweight must also be extended so as not to obstruct the polar alignment scope. Among other things, this implies that the ability to balance by extending or retracting the counterweight bar is not as useful as it might be. To minimize the need to rebalance, it's better to keep the counterweight bar extended and adjust the position of the counter weight(s).
3. The built in red LED to illuminate the polar scope is overly bright and doesn't seem adjustable. I have more success seeing by turning OFF the mount.
4. The tiny barrel and the obstruction created by the PolarScope illumination LED make it very difficult to spot Polaris through the RA axis with the polar scope removed so even getting the alignment "close" to begin with is difficult.
5. The alignment procedure as described is not complete or particularly helpful. Why?
A. 1, 2 or 3 star alignment requires starting from "parked position" which turns out to be difficult to get right. I find when my first star is off by quite a lot - which because of the problems above it often is - it is less painful to turn the mount off and restart from "parked" position than to fiddle with the RA and DECL tracking.
B. I'd like to make starting alignment from "parked" position easier by parking the mount before I take it down, BUT, to sight Polaris I have to mess with the Declination axis AND the RA axis. And even if I could somehow avoid that, I'll need to mess with both of these axes to balance the scope. Parking is only useful it the scope is not moved or reconfigured (as perhaps on a pier with fixed equipment).
C. I admit that I don't know ALL of the stars by name that it may choose to align with. If it at least gave me a clue what constellation the stars are in I'd have a better chance determining if the star is likely to be visible in my viewing environment which has many obstructions. Or if it told me the Az/Alt of that star...
D. My use of this mount is for astrophotography. As such the balance of the scope with the heavy astrophotography gear is MUCH different from when I have a diagonal and reticle for alignment. I'm thus faced with a conundrum: do I balance my astro gear, swap to visual for alignment knowing that all axes will be misbalanced during visual? It's not possible to "rebalance" without having to do a realignment.
E. The mount has a solar tracking rate. And I discovered from my attempt to track the sun during the transit of Venus that it has much more intelligence than I realized... BUT there are no instructions suggestions or hints on how to align and use the mount and controller with the sun. I know it has intelligence because it kept telling me on the controller after I made adjustments what my error was... this is NOT documented anywhere and I sure wish it had been.
F. The instructions should also explain what to do if Polaris is not visible. Not every viewing location will have a clear view to the North or south celestial pole.
G. Unfortunately a loose power cord or Hand controller cable getting disconnected means ALL position information is lost and realignment is necessary. I learned this from experience.
H. The controller remembers my GPS coordinates (site), but doesn't remember the last date and time. Why not? Usually it's still the same month and year since my last use, or if because of a loose cable (G, above) I'm restarting it may even still be the same MINUTE.
I. PAE - Pointing Accuracy Enhancement - it's really not clear from the manual if this feature first requires one of the alignment methods. In fact, it would be SO much easier if I were allowed to start this way. I could manually point the scope at say, Mintaka, tell the mount and go from there.
J. PEC - The manual says you need to correct for one "worm gear cycle", uhm, how long is that? The ambiguity is so great here it's like saying "go down the road a ways and make a left". The only clue is "a beep will occur" but when? Might sound silly, but for this reason (and a few others) I haven't tried doing PEC. Theoretically when I get autoguiding working there will be no need for PEC anyway, right?
FEATURES
I can't explain exactly why, but in the dark I can never get my fingers to find the RA or DECL clutch lock levers. The RA lever is closest to the location where the power cable and hand controller plug in. Those cables have to go somewhere and because the controller cable is short it means the cables normally drape OVER the RA clutch. The DECL clutch is really close to the dovetail mount and thus really close to the tube putting it in an awkward place.
I already mentioned the overly bright Polar scope illuminator and that it doesn't seem to be dimmable.
I was terrorized by a "Park" operation when after several hours of tracking the mount parked in such a way that my camera struck the front leg of the tripod. I suppose that it may have struck during tracking when I wasn't paying attention, but I don't think so. I've learned not to "park" without first removing my astrophotography gear, but as I noted, Parking turns out to not be that useful for me.
TRACKING
I can't explain the problem exactly, but many of my attempts to track for astrophotography have resulted in inconsistent performance compared to using my non-goto Astroview mount. Can't tell if it was slippage due to not locking down the clutches completely, balance problems, or what. But it has been annoying. When it IS working well, though, it's quite a joy.
USABILITY
There are lots of little annoyances with the way the mount is configured and the hand-controller is arranged.
1. It's quite fidgety to get the mount attached to the tripod - the latitude angle causes the balance to be wonky.
2. It seems like it takes a thousand twists to tighten the tripod to the mount.
3. A thousand more twists are needed to secure the spreader tray to the tripod using the knurled knob. I don't understand why that threaded part that holds the tray has so much thread!
4. There are washers required that are NOT attached to the knob. Guess what happens to those washers that must be inserted on a vertical shaft in the dark. Yeah, mine are all lost.
5. Despite what people may say about this mount, it's NOT light! It might be light by comparison with heavy duty mounts but it's heftier than two bowling balls. Invariably my back gets sore from moving any but the lightest parts of it.
6. It would be much easier though perhaps a little dangerous to set up and break down the mount if it were possible to easily remove the counterweight bar. Instead, you have to remove the "toe saver" (an easy to lose screw), and slide off the counterweight(s).
7. Unfortunately there is very little standardization in the area of Telescopes and mounts. This means that simple little things like using counterweights from another rig may be problematic since the diameters of the counterweight bars and the openings in the weights differ. Ditto for connectors, cabling, and so on.
8. It would be easier to use the Hand Controller (and place it in it's rack in the accessory tray) if the cord connected at the top rather than the bottom.
9. It would be great if there were some kind of simple padded carry case to keep the gear in - especially the hand controllers, cables and accessory tray.
Pros: solidly built, accurate, stable and sturdy
Cons: heavier than other mounts, alignment can be difficult, inadequate documenation, overbright polar scope illumination
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orion Sirius EQ-G Computerized GoTo Telescope Mount
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Mount/Tripod--Go to Database Lacking

PostedJune 5, 2011
Customer avatar
from Mesa, AZ
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this mount for a month. It's rock solid with my 120ST refractor and I suspect it can hold a lot more weight than the 10 lbs I have on it at present. It's quiet and the GoTo pointing is accurate, even with only an eyeball polar alignment without using the polar scope.
The negatives are 2. The manual does not explain the use of a number of the features of the handset. I found out a few of them by calling tech support and asking questions ( a lot of questions ), probably to the point of being regarded as a nuisance. If the manual was given more thought and revised appropriately to include all the features and uses of the handset a good deal of this back and forth could be eliminated.
The second quibble is with the data base. It is very bare bones compared to other vendors' databases. You basically get Messier Objects, NGC and IC Objects with a few double and variable stars thrown in. 29,000 plus objects are SAO catalog stars which are absolutely useless since star atlases do not label stars with SAO #s and trying to find info on the conversion from SAO #s to Bayer or Flamsteed #s is like looking for a needle in a haystack.
Even though I think the mount/tripod is a good value I would not recommend this to a friend because I think a mount of equivalent value with a better database can be found elsewhere with a little research on the WEB.
Favorite viewing location: haven't found one yet
Favorite object to observe: open clusters
No, I do not recommend this product.
-13points
5of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
StevenChristenson
California
 
Please wait while more information about StevenChristenson is loaded.
Additional information about StevenChristenson could not be loaded.
I have to agree...
Posted November 4, 2013
Despite the many "unhelpful" comments, I agree with the original poster. I struggle with this mount more than I care to admit. I don't use it every night and I find many nuisances with the hand controller and alignment procedure.
I'll write my own review to directly address what I perceive are deficiencies of the mount.
It may also be possible that the reviewer did not get the Hand Controller Manual with his kit. The Mount Manual has only a few details about the hand controller. Neither the mount nor the hand controller manuals however describe how long a "worm gear" cycle is so it's not clear, for example if a PEC cycle will we require 10 seconds, ten minutes or ten hours.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Customer avatar
Frank OB1
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Frank OB1 is loaded.
Additional information about Frank OB1 could not be loaded.
Go to Database Lacking
Posted April 23, 2012
Raja,
I think that once you become more familiar with the hand control you will find that it is very user friendly. This is one of the better mounts and hand control units even comparing to the high end units. My manual had everything that was needed for me to understand. Perhaps if you contact ORION and request another or newer version of the manual that may also help you out. Good Luck!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)