Customer reviews for Orion Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope

Orion Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope

The SkyScanner 100mm table top reflector is a perfect starter telescope. It is large enough to view night sky objects such as the Moon, planets, and bright nebulas and star clusters, yet compact enough to sit on a desk or store in your closet.
Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 Reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
42 out of 43(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Review 1 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fantastic scope

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
from Taylors SC
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I want to see what's up there.
Having had several "department store junk" scopes growing up, I wanted to buy a "real" scope this time. I was on a budget too, so I wanted to make sure I chose well. I had read reviews of several "starter scopes," and I decided to give the SkyScanner a try.
The skies had been cloudy when the telescope arrived, so I wound up having to wait a few days for good weather. On the first clear day I sighted the EzFinder II, using the strobe on a nearby cellphone tower as a reference. This too was my first look through the scope (obviously), and I was surprised how clear the tower looked.
That night I started by taking a look at the Moon. It was crescent, and I had read that the fun stuff is at the terminator, so I decided to concentrate there. I had my son come out and take a look, and he was surprised too at all the detail the scope shows.
I then turned my attention, and the scope (I like the sturdy base and smooth movement of the scope), towards Jupiter which was high overhead. I could easily see four of its moons, and could make out the bands across the planet.
To complete that evening, I wanted to see if I could find the Orion Nebula. I knew it was in the sword, and I figured this would be a good test of how well I had the finderscope sighted. I put the red dot on the middle star of the sword, and then looked in the eyepiece. It was like looking in a treasure chest. So many stars! I had no idea. And of course, in the center, was the nebula. It looked like a ghostly cloud. I don't know how long I stood there looking at it. It was simply amazing.
I like the scope's solid base and smooth adjustment. I like the two eyepieces provided. I'm looking forward to ordering the shorty 2x Barlow.
The SkyScanner's a great scope. I'm glad I got it.
Favorite viewing location: From the front yard
Favorite object to observe: Orion Nebula, Planets
Pros: good selection of eyepieces, sturdy base smooth movement
Yes, I recommend this product!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for a low price!

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
from Topeka, KS
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first ordered this telescope, I thought that since it was ONLY the price it was, it would be only so-so and work half the time. However when the package came in the mail I was really surprised and delighted. The accesories included with this really help with locating and then taking a closer look at sky objects. The telescope is beautiful, well made, and easy to use. The movement of the mount when you look at a different area of sky is smooth, not jerky like other telescopes I have tried. The scope included pinpoints where your telescope is pointed so you can navigate easier, and the lenses (20 and 10 mm) are really great quality and enhance the view instead of just magnifying something and making it blurry. I have observed Saturn, Jupiter, the moon, various nebulae like the Lagoon Nebula, and various star clusters.
The size makes this telescope small enough to transport in my car as well as small enough to carry around the yard for viewing in different directions. It is called a "table top" telescope and that is exactly how I set it up: setting it on a small end table. I was even able to take this telescope on a family vacation to Colorado and observe up in the mountains, which was really neat.
This is such a great package for the price. I HIGHLY recommend it for a beginner telescope because its ease of use and awesome optics will encourage the beginning astronmer to go further in observing the stars. It has been a great resource for me and has made astronomy into a super fun hobby!
Favorite viewing location: Country southwest of my house (I live near a city)
Favorite object to observe: Planets
Pros: ease of use, size- easy to transport, accesories included, optics / magnification, great price!
Yes, I recommend this product!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing views with entry level Orion SkyScanner 100mm reflector telescope!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
from Medford, NJ
Age:Over 65
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A few years ago, I received a "Brand X" entry level refractor telescope as a present (because of my interest in the night sky). I didn't have much time to use it back then, but recently, I got it out and took it in the backyard. It was fine for looking at our moon, but stars looked like blurs, at best.
I did an internet search and ended up selecting Orion's SkyScanner 100, based primarily on the generally great reviews (I read them all). I ordered the Scope on a Monday and received it on Wednesday. I didn't have time to open the box until Saturday. Assembly couldn't be simpler; remove and replace two knurled screws (to attach the EZ Finder II Reflex Sight), and loosen and retighten the "telescope securing knob" to slide the scope down one detent position to give it neutral balance (so the scope doesn't rotate when the tension knob is slightly loosened). I preadjusted the EZ Finder in the daylight.
I put the 20 mm eyepiece in (yielding 20X) and took the scope out in my backyard late that night. I finished adjusting the EZ Finder. The first thing I looked at was the Pleiades (I think). I was blown away by the number of stars! Each one was clear and sharp (not like the Brand X scope). I came back out at about 4:30 that morning and found the Orion Nebula. I switched to the 10 mm eyepiece. I'm hooked. Monday morning I found the Andromeda Galaxy (not much to see at 40X, but I've ordered other eyepieces). Then, I looked at Jupiter . . . I was stunned. The 4 large moons were clearly evident, and from the time I began watching until the time I finished, Io had clearly changed its position. Jupiter itself was sharp edged and, if anything, too bright! Great view!
This SkyScanner 100mm reflector is a terrific entry level telescope. By the way, I did check the colimation as described in the accompanying booklet, and it was perfect. Just be sure to use a dimmer star, not a very bright one.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard is easy; haven't tried other locations yet.
Favorite object to observe: Too soon to tell.
Pros: inexpensive, ez finder works well, clear well-focused images, compact storage, easy to take out & in
Cons: doesn't come with a stronger eyepiece
Yes, I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soooo Easy!

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer avatar
from Northern France
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent! A nice little scope that's easy to set-up, easy to use and easy to move around. One thing I really like is how I can remove the scope from its tabletop base and mount it on a camera tripod. I'm a tall guy so this works out really nice for me. The Easy Finder sight isn't all that bad, but it is a little difficult to use on the tabletop base when trying to sight something high in the sky. I changed mine out with the Black 6x30 Right Angle finder and a Dove-Tail base sold here. Just need to use a 4mm drill bit to open up the existing holes a little bit. I did this with a hand tap while the scope was pointed at the floor on the camera tripod so no metal shavings (or hardware) fell back onto the primary mirror. The 6x30 finder is excellent and very easy to adjust; a real nice upgrade for the SkyScanner that I would recommend. The right angle puts the sight right above the eyepiece which makes sighting and viewing much more fluid. This also enhances the viewing experience, in my opinion.
The eyepieces that come with the scope are decent. I've since added the Orion Sirius Plossi 12.5mm and 7.5mm eyepieces to my collection. Jupiter looks really good through the 7.5mm and with it, I can make out at least 4 cloud bands on the planet. I've also used a Euro brand (Omegon) 4mm Plossi which I believe is about the limit. The view with the 4mm was alright, but I can tell anything more would start to overpower the scope. With this eyepiece Jupiter was decent, but the Orion Nebula was very dim and difficult to focus upon. The nebula was best with the 7.5mm Sirius eyepiece. The 7.5mm was also nice for observing the moon. I used the 13% filter with it, otherwise it's a little on the bright on the eye.
Favorite viewing location: Dark Northern France
Favorite object to observe: Jupiter and it's moons
Pros: it's just so easy!, good clear optics, doesn't take up a lot of space in the house
Cons: the easy finder ii
Yes, I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great telescope for the price

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent tabletop telescope for the money. The views of the Moon, Sun (with appropriate filter) and planets are great with this little scope. The supplied eyepieces are ok, but with better eyepieces (Sirius and Expanse) this beginner scope excels.
The worst thing I can say about this scope is that there is no way to collimate this scope that I can see.
For anyone trying to decide between the 80mm GoScope and the 100mm SkyScanner.
(I purchased the GoScope for myself and the SkyScanner tabletop reflector as a gift but couldn’t resist trying it out.) If I had to choose between the two I would take the 100mm SkyScanner over this scope because of the aperture which allows you to see more Messier objects with it, and it is much more comfortable to use at zenith.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with this portable scope

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
from Frankfort, Illinois
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm certainly not a pro, but I have been watching the heavens for awhile. I have a SLT 90mm Mak Cass by Celestron with a goto mount which is a nice scope. It gets to be a headache sometimes when you just want to go out and look around without all the setup. Well this little tabletop scope has just made the hobby all the more exciting again. I cant be happier with the portability and the ease of use with this scope.
To be able to walk outside and begin looking around the skies immediately is a huge benefit. The quality of this scope is very good and the parabolic mirror provides a very nice clean image. The ease of use of the table top mount and the red dot pointer makes it so easy t find your targets. When I used my Zhumell 6mm long relief planetary lens I got beautiful views of Saturn that were better than my Mak Cass. Shipping was lightning fast by the Orion crew and it came in 3 days.
This is listed as a beginner scope but its a great scope for just what I described and taking it places. This has just become my favorite scope....much like he Funscope just a little better. Thanks Orion !!!
Favorite object to observe: Jupiter, Saturn, Blinking Planetary NGC 6826
Pros: quick viewing outdoors, ease of use, quality images, great mount, value
Cons: aperture is limited, eyepieces fair
Yes, I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A telescope that does wonders for anyone

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
from Blue Earth, MN
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided on getting this telescope because for one, it was my first major telescope purchase and first time getting into star gazing. I wanted a telescope that would introduce me into the night sky.
Needless to say, the 100mm skyscanner does that very well. I will go over what you can see with the telescope and what you cannot see right way.
First off, the telescope's two eyepieces, 10mm and 20mm, are pretty good for what they do. The 20mm is more suited for a wide area of sky gazing, and the 10mm is more close up and suitable for looking at planets in detail. What can you see with the eyepieces that come with the telescope? Well, since the 20mm is not quite suitable for planetary viewing, the 10 mm does allow you to see the planets Venus, Saturn, Jupiter, and Mars, and our Moon. Each planet has their strengths and weaknesses when looking at them.
Venus - Will be really bright in the 20 mm but the crescent phase is very clear. That crescent will help you be able to view Venus and admire it's beauty.
Saturn - Clear but small view. You will be able to see the rings around Saturn, Saturn itself, and potentially Titan (Saturn's moon). Titan varies though depending on the sky conditions.
Jupiter - You will be able to see the planet clearly. The cloud bands will be a bit faint but are viewable to the eye if you stare long enough. The moons are a sight to see, all four of them visible as dots criss-crossing Juptier.
Moon - Spectacular sight depending on sky conditions. The craters are extremely detailed and numerous. You will have a blast looking at the moon, I guarantee you.
Mars - Even with the 10 mm, Mars will only be seen as a tiny reddish bright dot. You may need to get a barlow and better eyepieces to see some detail on Mars.
Double stars are also viewable. But Nebulas, and galaxies are pretty much out of the realm of visibility.
Overall, it's a telescope excellent for planetary viewing and general star gazing, but not so well with nebulas and distant objects (at least with the 2 eyepieces.)
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: Any planet
Pros: venus, jupiter, the moon
Cons: mars very tiny, nebulas and galaxies are a challenge to view
Yes, I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect first scope

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
from Montreal, Quebec
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not be happier with this scope, which I mounted to my Manfrotto tripod. With this setup I can easily grab it and head outdoors. As a newcomer I can't compare it to other telescopes however I am amazed by the sharp contrasty images that this one provides. I was able to locate M42 (by accident!) and was thrilled along with Jupiter and Saturn.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: orion, jupiter, saturn
Pros: sharpness, ease of use, low cost
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, stable, portable, great views, and easy to use. Amazing first scope.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
from Palm Beach, Florida
Age:Over 65
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Orion Sky Scanner 100mm Table Top Reflector for my grandkids (ages 9 and 10) to share this Christmas (2013) since they both expressed an interest in astronomy and recite many facts they learned in science class. I chose the OSS 100mm Table Top Reflector because it is larger than the Orion 80mm that I use for my guidescope and is much more stable than the tripod mounts. The OSS arrived well-packaged and included a 10mm, as well as 20mm eyepiece, an EZ red-dot finder and the Starry Night Software on a DVD. The telescope is a well-made metal tube just like the large telescopes. I decided to assemble this gift in order to make sure all was in good working order and to give the children instant gratification when I show them how to properly utilize the telescope. Luckily, as the UPS delivery man was leaving, I looked up and saw the moon was clearly visible in the day time. This enabled me to align the EZ finder with the eyepiece in daylight. Much to my delight, the craters and mountains along the last quarter phase of the moon were clearly visible. Early in the evening, I place the OSS on a small table and aligned Venus in the eyepiece. The manual operation of the OSS, together with the EZ finder is, in fact, very easy to handle with basic instruction for children or anyone else. Just for the fun of it, I placed a Barlow in the focuser and a phase of Venus was visible instead of just observing a very bright globe. Later that night, actually early morning, I grabbed the highly portable OSS and again placed it on a table on our back deck pointed east for a great view of Jupiter and its moons. Before returning to bed, I turned the little table mount slightly to Orion and focused on M42, the Orion Nebula. It was remarkably clear, showing the dust and gas cloud with stars in the center. The Orion 100mm reflector far exceeded my expectations and I know the boys will be thrilled when they unwrap their present. I highly recommend this first scope for the purposes expressed. In fact, Grandpa will probably borrow it as a go-to scope when he's traveling.
Favorite viewing location: Florida Keys.
Favorite object to observe: M42
Pros: great portable first scope, sturdy and can use barlow
Cons: limited for moon planets and bright nebulas.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp images and a real joy to use.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from Southern Indiana
Age:Over 65
Level of experience in astronomy:Advanced
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Orion SkyScanner 100 mm TT Reflector Telescope is a great starter system and a good second grab and go scope. The dovetail knob is large enough to get a firm grip on and the altitude tension knob allows good adjustment of the altitude stiction The focuser has a smooth action and very little image shift while focusing. The optical tube can be operated at zenith, and dampening time is about one to two seconds and there is plenty of focus travel to accommodate different types of 1.25” eyepieces and Barlows. Orion’s SkyScanner is easy to carry and store and its mount is an absolute joy to use.
While performing a star test I found that defocusing inside and outside of focus shows good Fresnel rings with an outer ring that appears perfectly round and not excessively bright. In focus, stars are tightly formed points of light and diffraction spikes on even the brightest of stars are almost nonexistent.
At 40x (with the included 10mm eyepiece) Jupiter’s moons displayed well as tiny points of light. The two major bands were just barely visible at this power, however when I pushed the power up to 100x with a 4mm eyepiece (not included) Jupiter’s two bands were well discerned and the planet focused into a tight sharp disc. The supplied eyepieces are nice, but they really don’t bring out the potential of the SkyScanner. After all the optimal eyepiece for this scope is 8mm. Switching to an Orion 6.3 or 7.5mm Sirius Plossl will give you a noticeably improved image, sharper and with a bit more contrast.
If you want the maximum aperture possible for $100, or if you want an ultra portable second telescope that can be attached to a standard photo tripod, by all means pick up a SkyScanner.
Favorite viewing location: Five Oaks Observatory, my backyard roll off roof observatory.
Favorite object to observe: The Sun, Moon, Planets, Doubles, Variables and faint fuzzes.
Pros: great first scope, excellent grab and go, well built
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beginning telescope

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer avatar
from St. Louis, MO
Age:Under 18
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first telescope and I can not be happier with it. Its 100mm aperture allows you to see a great number of DSO's (including most of the Messier Catalog) and double/variable stars. The planets and moons also make nice targets, with Saturn's rings and Jupiter's moons easily visible. Its easy to set up and transport and can imply be put on a desk or table for storage. The EZ Finder Reflex sight works well, and the mirrors have never required collimation.
Favorite viewing location: Driveway
Favorite object to observe: Open Star Clusters and Planets
Yes, I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A TRUE Grab 'n Go Gem of a Scope

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
from Lake Oswego, Oregon
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a StarBlast 6 as a main scope, and it is a superb instrument. But at
23 pounds and a bit clumsy to move about, it isn't what I would characterize as a grab-and-go, more along the lines of a "semi-mobile rig".
I observe mainly from my front courtyard and back patio, so moving the SB 6 through the entire house, along with its own folding table base, is too much of a hassle. So once set up in either location, that is where I am locked in for the night. Hence, my decision to purchase the SkyScanner 100mm, this after convincing myself that this scope would not a redundancy. It is definitely not. The SS 100 is a true grab-and-go, more specifically a one-hander g&g.can set it up on any of 3 tables in the courtyard (one one to observe, say,the area around Antares, a second to view Vega and its environs, etc), then pick it up with one hand, cart it through the house to the back patio and use either of 2 tables already set there as its base. It is just so easy to transport and set up, almost like a pair of binocs. But with multiple magnification options.
As for performance: exemplary! Sharp, bright images. Smooth and precise focusing. Smooth and precise movement on the little half-Dob base. Super stable, no movement or wobble at all. The provided eyepieces are good, especially the 20mm which allows easy wide field scanning. I also use a 15mm Super Wide Angle, the 10mm Orion Plossl that came with my SB 6, and a 6mm Orion Expanse, all with good results. I've had this scope for about a month and find myself using it more often than my SB 6, mainly for the portability. So far, I have observed and sketched the "binocular constellation" Sagitta, M6, M7, M8, M11, NGCs 6541, 6231, 6709, the "Coathanger", and dozens of beautiful star-gorged expanses in the Milky Way, a task at which this little scope excels.
The only negative is the EZ II red dot finder, and the gripe here is the same as that for the SB 6: Once the scope is pointed anywhere from low mid sky and up toward the zenith the finder is almost impossible to use without resorting to the most absurd kind of of head and body contortions. But this flaw is at least partially obviated by using the SS 100 with a 25 or 32 mm eyepiece as its own finderscope, which is what i do about 90% the time. Not perfect, but it works. All in all, it's hard to imagine a better light bucket bang for the buck.
No matter what scope(s) you have, there is room in your stable
for this little gem. Fit and finish are, as is typical of Orion products,
excellent.
Favorite viewing location: Front courtyard and back patio of my house in semi-dark suburbs
Favorite object to observe: Saturn, Open Clusters
Pros: portability stability, optics, build quality, absolute ease of use, build quallity
Cons: not so hot finder
Yes, I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing telescope for the price.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
from Bogotá, Colombia
Age:35-44
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This little scope is amazing. Yes, granted you cannot adjust the primary mirror and it has a little bit of comma at low powers because it's a fast f/4 Newtonian. But for the price I think it's an amazing quality instrument that will get you hooked into astronomy if you are a beginner or will give you a great "grab and go" astronomy session if you are an intermediate or advanced amateur astronomer. From my light polluted front yard 8500 feet above sea level I had great views of Venus, Jupiter, M42, M31, a couple of open and globular clusters and a double star. I was even able to see the nuclei of a couple of distant galaxies which really surprised me given the aperture an the bad conditions. I can't wait to try it at a dark sky site. I'm sure I will be able to see a lot more. I recommend purchasing a 2X barlow. It makes a big difference in image quality and will give you higher magnifications.
Favorite viewing location: Front and back yard
Favorite object to observe: M42, never get tired of it :)
Pros: portable (grab and go), wide field views, inexpensive (bang for the buck), parabolic mirror, overall good quality, very bright for its aperture, sturdy mount, can be attached to tripod
Cons: fixed primary mirror, a bit of comma at low power
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for grab-and-go!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I've had this as a second scope for quite awhile now. My regular scope is a 10" SkyQuest, so I was surprise at how much smaller things look in this scope...But I have some nice high power eyepieces with large eye relief which makes this scope get some really nice views of brighter objects. It's perfect for showing people the moon and planets, and with good dark skies, some of the brighter deep sky stuff. The solar filter works great with it too (for sunspots).
It's inexpensive, so I don't mind letting children and others move it on their own. It's also great for older people with an interest because it is so lightweight and easy to manage.
Recently, I didn't tighten the table legs well enough and the table collapsed sending the poor telescope to the ground. It seems to be working fine, so I can say it seems to be a pretty sturdy scope!
This can never replace my 10" scope, but I don't expect it to. The fact that it's easy to grab and go means that I share the sky with my grandkids more often!
Today I'm ordering another one because I gave my first one to my elderly parents to take on a trip, and I'm going to let them keep it becuse it's perfect for them.
Pros: adding nice eyepieces makes it even better!
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i'm amazed at the power of such a small telescope

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
from Dallas, TX
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like others have mentioned this is a great scope. im not an expert but for the beginner this will not disappoint. the package arrived on time and was super easy to setup. five minutes after opening the package i was outside with a bar stool aiming at the moon. i started out with the 20mm eyepiece and was amazed at the detail. i could make out great detail on the surface and the craters looked so amazing. i then tried the 10mm
eyepiece and it was even better. don't even bother buying dept store scopes, this is pure quality and you can tell just by looking at it. i found saturn by using the redshift app on my iphone and after using the easy finder II i could make out the planets shape with the rings and all. i was amazed, this was the first time i've ever seen saturn through a telescope. next, i tried the 2x barlow shorty and it didn't really seem to double the power but definitely made a noticeable difference. the rings on saturn were now more defined. the great thing about this scope is that it's light weight and ultra portable. i took it to a friends house the next night and the party went from drinking to stargazing, they were amazed and in awe. again, this is the perfect first telescope. i look forward to taking it out to the country to look at nebulas and other deep sky objects.
Favorite viewing location: so far my backyard
Favorite object to observe: moon and saturn
Pros: power, portability
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SkyScanner 100mm Table Top

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Before I even purchased my telescope, the online Customer Service people were helpful and friendly, (thank you Crystal). My package arrived on time, in prefect condition. I immediately set to getting it all together. Ran into a few small issues here. When I looked into the telescope I saw what looked like flecks of plasic on the main mirror, no biggy, just blow them out, but then as I was trying to align the finder scope I noticed one of the screws holding the telescope body to the mounting dove tail was loose, which required me to remove the main mirror so I could get inside and hold the nut down to tighten the screw. (both of these is half a star down) After that everything went great. I don't live in the best area for star gazing, but the views were so clear it was remarkable. Moon filter is a MUST. I made the mistake of forgetting to put it in the first time I looked, and it only took a few moments but when I stepped back I was blind in one eye for a moment, OOPS. I'd also recommend a Barlow lens, I have a 3x one on order right now and can't wait to see the views that gives me. (The other half of the star gone because I shorted myself by not getting the barlow to begin with so nothing on the telescopes fault) ALL IN ALL great telescope to start with for the money, and has room to grow as you do.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent views with this scope.

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Purchased this scope for my son and I as a beginer scope. Excellent views. We have been looking at the moon to start with. The 1.25", 25% Moon Transmission Filter is a must, unless you prefer your retinas burned out! LOL. We also just got in the blue, yellow, red, and green tranmission filters, can't wait to see Jupiter and Saturn with those!
Favorite viewing location: Home
Favorite object to observe: Saturn
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
bopcatmac
El Campo, TX
 
Please wait while more information about bopcatmac is loaded.
Additional information about bopcatmac could not be loaded.
Scorched Eyes!
Posted November 15, 2013
Funny you'd mention burning out your retinas because despite knowing better, I looked at the Hunter's Moon one day before it was a completely full moon and it was like looking into a car headlight on high beam! I now use a moon filter because scorching my eye once was certainly enough!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
DelIcioUs Facebook StumbleUpon Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great First Scope

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from Chicago, IL
Age:18-24
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first telescope, and since I wasn't sure what I was getting in to, I didn't want to spend very much. I settled on the SkyScanner 100mm, and have been very happy with it. With the right eyepieces, the telescope is powerful enough to glipse the moons around Jupiter and the rings around Saturn, and it is especially great for studying the surface of the moon. Overall, if you are looking for a telescope that will let you start to observe the skies without making a serious investment, the SkyScanner is a great choice.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: Moon, Jupiter, Saturn
Pros: value
Cons: for the price none.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product at a great value

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Optical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a great telescope. I don't like how the spotting scope is set up and works. It's hard to line your eye up with the red dot to locate objects.
Favorite viewing location: cartercamp, pa
Pros: easy to use telescope
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Orion SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I read previous reviews to find a great beginner telescope and this is it!

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
from Saskatchewan, land of living skies
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a fair amount of research first before purchasing. The customer reviews and this website really helped. I bought this for my son and he is really pleased with it and it has really increased his interest in astronomy. Now he is talking upgrade, upgrade - but this is a really great starter for someone who just likes to do occasional sky gazing.
This telescope is great value for the price. I had previously purchased a telescope from a department store and this advice is correct - don't buy department store telescopes!
Favorite object to observe: The moon - Jupiter
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>