Customer reviews for Orion Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope

Orion Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope

The SkyQuest XT10 is a very affordable intermediate Dobsonian. The stable base and the attached EZ Finder II make it easy to move the telescope and find objects. The XT10 allows you to view objects brighter and in more detail than the XT8.
Overall rating:
4.941 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 Reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Review 1 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought the XT10 at the end of a very long few days of reading telescope reviews. Being new to astronomy, I didn’t know what telescope to purchase. My initial intention was to buy a simple 60mm refractor and boy am I glad I didn’t. I read an article about telescopes for beginners which brought me to the XT4.5, another to the XT6, another to the XT8, and finally to the XT10. The summery of pretty much every review and article I read recommended purchasing the biggest telescope that you can afford and physically move. So I did and I couldn't be happier.
My XT10 came in two boxes. Assembly wasn’t anything too complicated. It should take less than an hour to assemble with only moderate skill required. After assembly I recommend that you take the scope outside and sight in the finder. It’s easier sighting in the finder scope during daylight hours, just don’t use the sun! The 25mm eyepiece included does allow for standard 1.25mm filters. I purchased the Orion 13% Moon filter and I highly recommend it if you have any intension to view the moon. I also purchased the Orion Expanse 6mm eyepiece which seems to work well to my amateur eyes. I also have a 2X Barlow coming in the mail. A 2X Barlow with the 6mm will give me 400X, which should be close the limit for my semi-city skies.
A brief note on transporting the scope. I found it much easier to move the scope if it is separated from the base. I am 6’ and 190 pounds and the unit is much too cumbersome to move with the base attached. It is possible to move as a whole, but it increases the potential for damage. I can move the scope into position in two trips faster and safer than with the scope attached to the base for a single trip.
A tip for beginners like myself. If you are clueless when it comes to astronomy and just decided to buy a telescope on a whim like I did, you owe it to yourself to do some reading first. Look at pictures taken with a comparable size scope to the one you wish to purchase. In doing so you will know what to expect with your purchase. You are not going to see any super colorful Hubble like images of Messier objects. As long as you know what to expect before you make your purchase you won’t be disappointed.
Overall the scope is a wonderful piece of equipment and I would highly recommend it to anyone new to astronomy or upgrading from a smaller scope.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: DSO's
Pros: optics, quality, value, ease of use
Cons: weight, size
Yes, I recommend this product!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aperture is king, but not without its tradeoffs.

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Eastern Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right off the bat, it bears mentioning that the XT10 is a big telescope. If you can't lift and transport 50-plus bulky pounds, this may not be the telescope for you. That being said, the XT10 is an excellent telescope, especially for punching through moderate to heavy light polluted areas. I did a field test comparison between my 6-in reflector and my new XT10. The first thing you can't help but notice is the jump in size- the 10 is 20 lbs. heavier, 6 inches taller, and 6 inches wider. So make sure you have room to conveniently stow it. The 10's weight and girth required me to take two trips from my car to the field testing site. But the 6 only required one trip.
For lunar and planetary viewing, there isn't that much a difference between the XT10 and the 6-in due to the fact that they share the same focal length (1200mm). The viewing quality was strikingly similar. But I'll go as far as to say the 6, due to its higher focal ratio (f/8), provided more lunar and planetary contrast and resolution than the XT10.
But the most noticeable difference between the 6 and 10 was in viewing deep sky objects. The 10 pulls in a lot more light. The 10 offers much better views of nebulae and galaxies. I'm seeing stars and details in Messier objects I couldn't see before. Bear in mind that the 10 is less forgiving on lower-end eyepieces, so be prepared to invest in better optics (eyepieces and filters) to really max out its potential. Precise laser collimation is also strongly suggested. It's like anything else that's high end. It requires a little more to make it get up and go. But when it does, hang on tight.
The XT10 fulfills all of my deep sky stargazing needs. Orion nebula and M51 never looked so good. It's a keeper.
Favorite viewing location: Fire Island National Seashore.
Favorite object to observe: Horsehead Nebula.
Pros: deep space observing, simple assembly and use.
Cons: heavy., higher end eyepieces required for adequate viewing
Yes, I recommend this product!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great first scope!

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
from Boiling Springs, PA
Owned this product for:3 mos - 6 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always had an interest in the night sky but had never actually looked through a telescope. Astronomy interested me enough that I decided it was time to buy a telescope and begin a new hobby. I spent a couple of weeks doing intense internet research. I made sure I understood the advantages and disadvantages of each type of telescope. After reading a lot of positive reviews about it, I decided to take the plunge and purchase the Orion XT10 Classic Dobsonian. The main selling points for me were the price, aperture, manageable size, and ease of use.
I couldn't wait to receive my first scope. The day it got here, I had it unboxed, assembled, and collimated within about 45 minutes. I took it outside to my back porch just as it was starting to get dark. I aligned the finder sight on a nearby house and had it ready to aim at the sky. Having little knowledge of the night sky, I decided to point it at the brightest "star" that was currently visible in the southeast. I took a look through the included 25mm Sirius Plossl eyepiece and I knew immediately what I was looking at - Saturn! I could hardly believe that the first object I happened to point at was the most recognizable planet in our solar system. I popped in some of the higher-powered Highlight Plossl eyepieces that I ordered along with the scope and was amazed to be looking at Saturn and its glorious rings in remarkable detail. That will be a moment that I'll never forget and I couldn't have asked for a better way to begin my adventures in astronomy.
Fast forward five months and I'm still just as amazed at the views of objects I've seen with this telescope. You will be astounded with the detail you can see on the moon and Jupiter on good nights. I've lost count of how many beautiful Messier objects I've viewed, as they tend to be my favorite targets. I'm always looking forward to new objects rising on the night horizon, whether it be later in the night or later in the year.
Now for the scope itself. The XT10 provides great views of any type of celestial object, as long as you check the collimation before viewing, which is part of regular maintenance on any reflector. It's very easy to move, as long as you move the tube and base separately. I don't recommend trying to move them in one piece, even if you're strong, because moving 55 pounds of an object that big can be pretty awkward. Aiming the telescope and keeping objects in the field of view is done with ease, once you get used to the backwards and upside-down view inherent with a reflector. One of the first accessories I would recommend getting is the Orion 9x50 RACI finder scope. The included EZ Finder II sight is helpful for star hopping, but can make it difficult to locate some of the fainter deep sky objects. It's very easy to locate objects by targeting the general area with the red dot finder and then finding their exact location with the 9x magnification of the RACI finder. I'm very pleased with the overall quality of the scope and highly doubt you will be able to find a better value. This is a great purchase for anyone like me who is just beginning amateur astronomy or any seasoned veteran who's on the quest for more aperture.
Favorite viewing location: Home
Favorite object to observe: M13 - Hercules Globular Cluster
Yes, I recommend this product!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome...

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from Northern France
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was torn for a long time between the XT8 and the XT10. I visited many forums and asked several questions about it, and in the end I pulled the trigger on the XT10... and man, I don't regret my decision in the slightest! The XT10 is simply awesome! With this light bucket, even in my light polluted back yard outside of Paris, France, I was able to pluck out M51, the whirlpool galaxy in Ursa Major, it was faint, but it was there! Saturn was absolutely stunning and I can even see fallout impacts around the craters on the moon. Awesome! Open star clusters look wonderful and globular clusters resolve nicely. The only drawback about the scope is that it is a little on the heavy side, so If you have a bad back this may not be the scope you want to have to carry outside. I'm 6'2" and in pretty good shape. I take the scope out in two pieces, the base and then the tube to lighten the load a little. Scope totes help big time for moving the tube around, I use Strap-A-Handles and they work great. If you're torn between the XT8 and the XT10, and can handle the load, get the XT10 and don't look back! You really won't regret it!
Favorite viewing location: Dark Rural France
Favorite object to observe: Jupiter
Yes, I recommend this product!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best First Scope

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
from Southern Indiana
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
The Orion Skyview Classic XT10 was the first scope and solid foundation in my already growing arsenal and it is the absolute sweet spot of size verses image quality when considering a Dobsonian. An outstanding value when considering the overall excellence of the images viewed and amount of dollars spent. On my very first night out (New Moon) I found the banding, the Cassini division, four moons and even the shadow of the rings on Saturn and I am a noob. Setup is a wee bit cumbersome but completely manageable and the extraordinary views afforded by this virtual “Light Bucket” is well worth the bit of extra effort. In my humble opinion there is no better setup in this price range and I highly recommend the XT10 as a “first scope”. The addition of an Orion Stratus 5mm Wide-Field EP will reap many rewards too.
Favorite viewing location: ... my front yard
Favorite object to observe: Moon and planets
Pros: superb images
Yes, I recommend this product!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
I have an old 8" dob from 1986 (Halley time), and recently my interest has waned. I bought the Orion SkyQuest XT10 in the hope of rekindling my enthusiasm. It worked! The telescope arrived promptly and in good shape with more than adequate packing. Assembly was easy, even for mechanically challenged me. I had a little trouble with collimation, the manuel shows a centered secondary. Once I offset it a little (its a fast scope), everything snapped into place. Last night, with the supplied 25mm Plossl and a Barlow, the Ring Nebula was wonderful . I had no trouble finding M33. I'm very happy!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm glad I went with the 10

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was worried that the 10 inch would be too big...and the extra $$ kept me on the fence for a while. I'm glad that when I finally did spring for a scope 6 months ago, I went with the XT10 though. Once my wife got over the initial shock...and confirmation that I had finally lost my mind by bringing home such a large scope (a far cry from the 60mm department store scopes she is used to seeing), I was finally able to have some fun with it.
The tube fits easily between two child seats in my Matrix (smaller car) and it takes me less than 5 minutes to set up...or put back in the car. Other's in my astronomy club arrive an hour early to set up tripods, calibrate, point the mount at Polaris, set up electronics, etc, etc, etc. I pull up at dusk, set the base on the ground, plop the tube onto the base, and grab my favorite eyepiece (at this point, a Tele Vue 15mm plossle) leaving them shaking their heads. I enjoy the simplicity of a dob and I feel I'm learning far more about the sky than I would with a "go to" scope.
I'm able to see slightly more with this scope than a friend's 8 inch. The 8 inch is spectacular also; but in practice, the 10 pulls in just a wee bit more light (in theory, 56% more).
Dobsonian's are not without their drawbacks. With extremely BRIGHT objects like planets, I do see the characteristic star-burst from the secondary mirror mounts (my eyes have adapted to it and I barely notice it anymore); and having a 4.7 focal ratio, stars at the very edge of the field of view slightly seagull...not very noticeable at all unless I'm mindfully looking for it though... A final drawback is that dobs are not great for astro-photography. These drawbacks are a very small price to pay for such amazing performance with the deep sky objects though in my opinion...at this price range anyway.
With the deep sky objects (where the drama is for me anyway) this scope is amazing! My breath is continually taken away by the views I'm getting of galaxies and nebulae. I'm not talking Hubble images, but realistic images of the "faint fuzzes". With a really dark sky, I'm just barely able to make out the spiral structure in the Whirlpool Galaxy!! I am continually humbled looking at a galaxy whose light took MILLIONS of years to travel through space (at the speed of light) to hit my eyepiece. It makes me feel incredibly small to know that our Milky Way galaxy (all the stars that we see at night with our naked eye, with the exception of the Andromeda galaxy) is just one of billions of such galaxies. It's mind expanding without the blue cup! The XT10 has been a great teaching tool too, My 4 year old daughter is learning all about the planets, and through the winter learned to point them out in the sky when I ask her "Where is...).
In short, I'm glad I stretched a bit for the XT10. It's a scope I feel I can grow with over the years. I know I would have been extremely happy with the 8 inch, but I would have always wondered what more I could have seen with the 10.
Favorite viewing location: any dark sky :)
Favorite object to observe: Jupiter and it's moons (particularly Europa). There has to at least be some bacteria in the ocean under its thick sheet of ice!!! Also, even though there isn't much structure, I still love observing the Andromeda galaxy.
Pros: simplicity, aperture vs. cost ratio, optics
Cons: i wish the base had a little more glide
Yes, I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of good times together with my first big scope

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
from Beaver Meadows, PA
Owned this product for:Over 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this scope back in 2003 with the Mars super opposition in mind, and from the first crystal clear glimpse of the moon on the evening of assembly, I knew I had made a good investment. I can still remember the fantastic sight of Mars at opposition under a clear sky in late August at 120X-the purplish lower region, the ice cap, and the orange desert. With this scope I discovered the Ring Nebula in Lyra, just barely a green glow of the Orion Nebula, Jupiter's stripes, and rediscovered Saturn's rings, I sight I had not seen "live" since the late 1970's.
Scope was relatively easy to assemble and disassemble, and optical tube fit neatly in the trunk of my car, while the base sat in the back seat. Lightweight enough for one person to handle easily. The two eyepieces provided, 25mm (48x) and 10mm (120x) were excellent, as I used solely these two eyepieces for several years.
Left the scope out on the porch for a few years as my interest waned for a while in the mid 2000's, and a Noreaster or two blew the cover off and snowed inside the tube. Eventually a spider made a web and lived her entire life inside the optical tube. When my interest flared again a few years ago, I purchased this scopes' excellent siblings, the 6" StarBlast and 12" Intelliscope, both based on the fine experience I had with this 10" scope. I still use the same two eyepieces in the newer scopes, as well as a few more, and when I get up the gumption, I may have the mirror cleaned on this 10", as it is quite convenient for such a large scope, and the dust covering the mirror may now be protecting it.
I look at this scope the same way some folks look at old cars they have driven with a sense of nostalgia. Some people reminisce about the many miles they have driven and places they have gone in their old car. I have kept the scope in the same location and gazed much much farther into the night sky and seen places to which no one has ever been.
Favorite viewing location: The grassy knoll
Favorite object to observe: Broad starry swaths in the Milky Way
Pros: aperture, optical quality, portability, ease of use, price
Yes, I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skyquest XT10 Dob Review

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Just recieved the 10 inch classic skyquest dob a few days ago. Assembly was not to difficult, but orion could make assmbly easier by labling what bag is used where. But it isn't too hard to figure out. Looked at jupitar at 130x, 150x, and 190x. WOW!!! it was FANTASTIC!! I have seen jupitar in scopes costing 2-3 times more than what this scope costs, and it was 100% as good as those more expensive scopes. Looked at the moon, it was quite big for a telescope, but it too was GREAT. The next time the moon will at it's best will be September 14-17, 2010. I can't wait to see it at the best size for a scope. This scope very highly has the very best optics on the market for under 1000. The only drawback is the size. The base is easy to carry a moderate distance, but the scope itself is a problem to carry, unless your hulk hogan. A easy solution to this is to get a upright dolly to move the scope to where you want to set it up. I got my dolly at harbor frieght for 40, it works great and makes moving the scope extremly easy. Opticly I highly recommed this scope to anyone, but if you are worried about the weight the 8 inch should be at least 90-95 as good for less money and less wieght. If your not worried about the weight, then go with this scope.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first scope, and I love it!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
from Rimrock, AZ
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My XT10 is about six years old now. Over the years it's taken a couple of bumps, but the optics and viewing have never suffered as a result. The scope is built very well.
As far as views, the XT10 gets tremendous looks at the moon (use a filter), Jupiter, the Andromeda Galaxy, and most deep space objects. All of these have looked very impressive using just the standard 25mm and 10mm lenses that were included in the box.
I think it's worth noting that in six years, I have never had to collimate this scope or clean the mirrors. To me, that's pretty impressive!
Favorite viewing location: Back yard in urban Arizona
Favorite object to observe: Open Clusters
Pros: great aperture especially for the low cost, terrific first telescope
Cons: upper limit of portability for small cars, no free shipping
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent telescope for deep sky viewing

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer avatar
from Stem, NC
Owned this product for:6 mos - 1 year
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first took this telescope out, I was amazed by the views of the Pleiades and the Orion Nebula. The nebulosity around the Pleiades was obvious,and it seemed like I was actually there. The optical quality of this telesope is excellent for a fast Newtonian. If you live in a dark sky, as I do, this is the best telescope for the money. The included EZ Finder II is fine for finding stars but is inferior for locating deep sky objects. I reccomend purchasing the Orion 9X50 straight through finderscope if you intend to view deep sky objects. The one drawback to this telescope is the size and weight, but that is to be expected with large Newtonians. I higly reccomend this telescope. Just be sure to consider the size and weight before purchase.
Favorite viewing location: Backyard
Favorite object to observe: Orion Nebula
Pros: large aperture, excellent optical quality
Cons: size/weight
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow is all I can say looking at the sky!

PostedMay 7, 2011
Customer avatar
from Port Richey Fl
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features & Functionality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a wheelchair bound disabled veteran that got into the stars at a young age by Jack Horkheimer (aka the Star Hustler, aka Star gazer, RIP).The First light for scope was done in a highly light polluted area and was amazing. Orions nebula was so large it felt like You could reach out and touch it, cant wait to take to a dark site and try, if this is any indiction I will do as Jack allways said "keep looking up". As soon as I can afford to I will buy either a Orion 10" f/3.9 Newtonian Astrograph Reflector Telescope, or a Orion 8 f/8 Ritchey-Chretien Astrograph Telescope just so I can take my own Pictures.
Favorite object to observe: Nebulas
Pros: light gathering
Cons: opical tube is heavy could be lighter
Yes, I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One awesome telescope!

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Customer avatar
I absolutely love this telescope. It is the scope I will keep the rest of my life and if something happens to it I'll just order another one. The optics are great. The fast focal length provides pleasing bright images. The instructions on how to set up and collimate the scope are well written and easy to follow. If you are new to the hobby I cannot recommend a better company than Orion for your first scope or binoculars. Orion's customer service is the best out there should you need it. Returning an item is trouble free.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent purchase for the cost

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
from Maryland
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first real telescope and I am extremely pleased with it. Even in my light polluted backyard I have no problems.
Favorite object to observe: All the planets
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product gives a new window on the night sky

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
from Ketchikan Alaska
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the last 10 years I have used a 4in reflector. I was blow away by the sight of Jupiter at 150x in the xt10. I was uneasy about collimating the scope, by using the collimation cap the job was easy.
Favorite viewing location: front yard
Favorite object to observe: jupiter,messier objects
Pros: great night veiws
Yes, I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer avatar
First of all, I made the mistake of buying a cheap telescope at a boxstore. Very low quality and frustrating to use. I spent more time adjusting it then looking through it. A slight breeze shook the scope all over the place. Don't cheap out. Save that money and put a few more dollars with it to get this scope. I bought this scope last July and I wanted to test the scope for a while so I could write an accurate and honest review. I can honestly say this scope is amazing. I could see the high quality of this scope as I was putting it together in my front driveway. The base is very sturdy and I was very impressed with the way the tube attaches to the base. High quality all the way. It went together easily and collimating the lens was also easier than I thought. It onlt took 5 mins. I had the scope ready for hours before dark. On the first night I pointed the scope at Jupiter. Wow what a clear view. I could easily see the cloud bands and 4 moons (with the 25mm eyepiece). I pointed the scope at several of the Messier objects and was very happy at the views. Although I'm very happy with this purchase I recommend spending a little extra to get a better sight. I have the EZ finder 2 and it's not that great. I would also recommend getting a stronger eyepiece to zoom in a little better. The service at Orion is equally amazing. The scope arrived here in Alberta five days after I ordered it. Thanks for a great product. I know it will provide a lifetime of great views.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

XT10 - High Quality Dobsonian

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Pros: Easy to assemble, accurate optics (good resolution of objects), very stable Dobsonian mount Cons: Large and heavy instrument (plan ahead to set-up, collimate, and equilibrate to ambient temp), eyepiece rack is not included (are the bean counters taking over Orion?!), Fed-Ex (apparently Orion's preferred shipper) punched a hole in side of shipping container (no visible damage to scope...this time), EZ Finder II reflex scope is IMO of poor quality, pointer is too bright, and confusing to use at first (I removed the 6X26 mm correct image a REAL FINDER SCOPE from my XT4.5 and found objects immediately, again...are the bean counters taking over Orion?!) All in all...despite the cons...a very sound instrument. I've observed the following notable objects since first light in June 2009 from my often cloudy, light polluted neighborhood: M57, Lyra epislon (impressive double-double), Ablerio (beautiful blue and gold binary), M13, M56, Black eye galaxy, Jupiter and it's moons (easily observed atmospheric bands w/o filter).
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scope for the $

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Customer avatar
I'm an intermediate-level stargazer, and I started looking for a catadioptric because I figured that was the "next step." But I really wanted a larger aperture than those offered and for less $. I also like the Dobsonian mount for how easy it is to maneuver around. Eventually I'll get an equatorial-mounted SC too, but I doubt I'll ever really "outgrow" this one. I also thought I needed a fancy computer, but I've never owned a motorized scope before and been just fine. Why get one now? I'm told that they aren't all that reliable anyway-better to put the $150 towards better optics. It came promptly and was easy to get set up. I'm really enjoying the computer program. It has lots of spiffy features I don't care about but it's great to use for basic locating and identifying. The scope is easy to collimate and I had no trouble aligning the finder scope. The downside is its bulkiness, but you know that's what you're getting in a large reflector. I wish that it had come with a second eyepiece, but we collect eyepieces according to our preferences anyway. I was able to see Jupiter's four big moons and cloud bands easily. I also picked up Neptune, a few nebulae (but not much color due to light pollution), a few clusters, and great moon views. BUT the large aperture gives you big-time moon washout. Put on a filter! And all of this was in the city. I can't wait to take it out away from lights and see more.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, easy to use scope

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
from Winston-Salem, NC
Age:35-44
Level of experience in astronomy:Beginner
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I upgraded my old scope from a 130mm reflector to this 10-inch beauty. I have only used it a couple of times in my driveway, but can't wait until I can get away from the city for some real sky-gazing. This scope was easy to setup up and, despite its size, is rather portable. Without any add-ons, you will need to be able to lift a few pounds, but it is more bulky than heavy. However that bulk is well worth it! I am still a novice gazer, but this scope glides enough to allow me to "walk" the stars until I reach what I'm looking for.
Favorite viewing location: NC near Pilot Mountain
Favorite object to observe: Saturn and other planets
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Orion SkyQuest XT10 Classic Dobsonian Telescope
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Level of experience in astronomy:Intermediate
Owned this product for:Less than 3 mos
Optical Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Assembly & Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent manual scope. It will give great views of planetary objects as well as deep sky objects up to nearly 15th magnitude under a dark sky site. I have had no trouble finding a number of faint globular clusters under light polluted suburban skies. Of course, your eyepieces will make all the difference, but the included focuser will accept both 1.25" and 2" eyepieces which is of great benefit. I would recommend this scope to anyone.
Favorite viewing location: Osceola National Forest aka The Swamp (NEFAS Dark Sky Site)
Favorite object to observe: Saturn and m31
Yes, I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>